©Geert Van Hoeymissen 1.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

ARIES TRIO

Saturday January 14, 2023 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels

ARIES TRIO

Alice Van Leuven - violin
Paul Heyman - cello
Wouter Valvekens - piano

Program:

A. Scriabin: Etude Op. 2 Nr. 1 (arr. Krein)

P. Tchaikovsky: Keyboard Trio in A minor Op. 50 

The rich tradition of Russian music of the 19th and 20th centuries remains a safe bet for each interpreter, the emotional charge being omnipresent there.

The study op. 2 no. 1 of Skriabin serves as a prelude to this Russian program. It is an early work by Scriabin written for the piano and beautifully transcribed for keyboard trio by Alexander Krein, a contemporary and friend of Scriabin. This work is inspired by two of Scriabin's teachers: Sergei Taneyev and Anton Arensky, both students of Tchaikovsky.

Piotr Tchaikovsky is one of Russia's most acclaimed composers. The culture lover will immediately recognize familiar ballet tunes after just a few notes. The keyboard trio in A minor is, however, less known to the general public. The title “In memory of a great artist” serves as a dedication for the eminent pianist Nikolai Rubinstein who was also a great friend of Tchaikovsky. This trio has two movements; the first is built like a long litany dedicated to Rubinstein. But Tchaikovsky surprises us above all in the second movement where, starting from a very simple theme, he develops a long series of variations, a genre of which he was a past master. According to these variations we discover some traditional dances, such as the mazurka or the waltz. Virtuoso passages alternate with more interiorized interludes. After a very brilliant finale Tchaikovsky returns to the plaintive opening theme. Tchaikovsky here pays vibrant homage to Rubinstein's life, his charisma as a musician, and ends the piece with a renewed lament at the loss of his friend.

Trio Aries, founded in 2018, gathers three Belgian musicians, violinist Alice Van Leuven, cellist Paul Heyman and pianist Wouter Valvekens. The trio’s career took an uplifting turn when it won the 2020 edition of the prestigious Supernova Classics competition organized by the Belgian radio. Meanwhile, Trio Aries was invited to play recitals in high-profile concert halls and festivals among which Klarafestival in Bozar, the Springconcert in the Royal Palace of Belgium, Sound of Ghent in Miry, Festival van Vlaanderen, Festival en Poitou in France, 30CC in Leuven and Amuz in Antwerpen. Their debut in the Henry Leboeuf hall in Bozar was acclaimed by the Flemish newspaper deStandaard « A memorable rendition of Brahms’ first piano trio ».  

 

2021 marked the release of the trio’s debut album « Awakening » with label Etcetera. This disc, recorded in deSingel in Antwerp, was produced by Beeldenstorm vzw, an organisation that welcomes the trio as artist in residence. The program includes pieces from Scriabin, Suk, Schubert and Mendelssohn and was widely well received in the press, among others France Musique - « Nothing scares these young people! There’s a vision of modernity very present throughout their interpretations. » and deStandaard (attributes five stars) - “Impressive fingers, great ideas, excellent ­vibe: chamber music 3.0.”

 

The musicians of Trio Aries benefitted an excellent training at three eminent schools in Europe, respectively the Universität der Künste of Berlin, the Zürcher Hochschule der Künste in Zürich and the Royal Academy of London. The members of the Trio reunite these different experiences in their search for the groove specific to each piece from their wide repertoire, a synthesis between color of sound and timing. With this in mind, they present not only masterpieces from the piano trio repertoire to the public but also less played pieces. The Trio Aries commits to a collaboration with artists from different branches to create multidisciplinary projects. 

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

©Geert Van Hoeymissen 1.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

TRIO ARIES

Samedi 14 janvier 2023 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

TRIO ARIES

Alice Van Leuven - violin
Paul Heyman - cello
Wouter Valvekens - piano

Programme:

A. Scriabin: Etude Op. 2 Nr. 1 (arr. Krein)

P. Tchaikovsky: Trio à clavier en la mineur Op. 50 

La riche tradition de la musique russe des 19ème et 20ème siècles reste une valeur sûre pour chaque interprète, la charge émotionnelle y étant omniprésente.

L’étude op. 2 nr. 1 de Skriabin sert de prélude à ce programme russe. C’est une oeuvre de jeunesse de Scriabin écrite pour le piano et joliment transcrite pour trio à clavier par Alexander Krein, contemporain et ami de Scriabin. Cette oeuvre est inspirée par deux des professeurs de Scriabin : Sergei Taneyev et Anton Arensky, tous deux élèves de Tchaikovsky.

Piotr Tchaikovsky est un des compositeurs russes les plus acclamés. L’amateur de culture reconnaitra d’emblée les airs de ballet connus après seulement quelques notes. Le trio à clavier en la mineur est cependant moins connu du grand public. Le titre « A la mémoire d’un grand artiste » sert de dédicace pour l’éminent pianiste Nikolai Rubinstein qui était par ailleurs aussi un grand ami de Tchaikovsky. Ce trio compte deux mouvements ; le premier se construit comme une longue litanie dédiée à Rubinstein. Mais Tchaikovsky nous surprend surtout dans le deuxième mouvement où, à partir d’un thème très simple, il développe une longue série de variations, un genre dont il était passé maitre. Au gré de ces variations nous découvrons quelques danses traditionnelles, comme la mazurka ou la valse. Les passages virtuoses s’alternent avec des intermèdes plus intériorisés. Après un final très brillant Tchaikovsky retourne au thème plaintif du début. Tchaikovsky rend ici un vibrant hommage à la vie de Rubinstein, son charisme de musicien, et termine la pièce avec la plainte renouvelée de la perte de son ami.

Le Trio Aries, fondé en 2018, réunit trois musiciens belges: la violoniste Alice Van Leuven, le violoncelliste Paul Heyman et le pianiste Wouter Valvekens. La carrière du trio a pris son envol grâce à leur victoire au concours de musique de chambre Supernova Classics en 2020, organisé par la radio nationale belge. Entretemps, le Trio Aries a été invité à se produire dans de grandes salles de concert et festivals. Pour n’en citer que quelques-uns: le Klarafestival à Bozar, le concert de printemps du Palais Royal de Bruxelles, Sound of Ghent à la salle Miry à Gand, le Festival van Vlaanderen, le Festival en Poitou (France), 30CC à Leuven et Amuz à Anvers. Leurs débuts à la salle Henry Leboeuf de Bozar ont été acclamé par la magazine flamand deStandaard - « Une interprétation mémorable du premier trio à clavier de Brahms ». 

 

Le premier album du Trio Aries est sorti en 2021 chez Etcetera et porte le titre « Awakening ». Ce disque, enregistré au Singel d’Anvers, a été produit par l’asbl Beeldenstorm qui accueille le trio en tant qu’artiste en résidence. Le programme est composé d’oeuvres de Scriabin, Suk, Schubert et Mendelssohn et a reçu d’excellentes critiques, entre autres de la part de France Musique - « Ils n’ont peur de rien ces jeunes gens! Il y a une vision de la modernité très présente dans leurs interprétations » et deStandaard (qui lui attribue cinq étoiles) - « Des doigts agiles, de magnifiques idées, une atmosphère excellente: c’est de la musique de chambre 3.0. »

 

Les musiciens du Trio Aries ont bénéficié d’une excellente formation auprès de trois conservatoires d’Europe de très grande renommée: respectivement la Universität der Künste de Berlin, la Zürcher Hochschule der Künste de Zürich et la Royal Academy de Londres. Les membres du trio réunissent ces différentes expériences dans leur recherche du ‘groove’ propre à chaque pièce de leur large répertoire, la synthèse entre la couleur sonore et le timing. C’est dans ce but qu’ils présentent au public les oeuvres maîtresses du répertoire écrit pour trio à clavier mais aussi certaines oeuvres moins fréquemment programmées. Le Trio Aries s’engage également à la collaboration avec d’autres branches artistiques pour donner naissance à des projets interdisciplinaires.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png