Luca088-2-2.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

ROELAND HENDRIKX Ensemble

Sunday March 26, 2023 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

ROELAND HENDRIKX ENSEMBLE

Roeland Hendrikx - clarinet

Nicolas Dupont - violin

Sander Geerts - viola

Sebastien Walnier - cello

Program:

WA Mozart

Quartet KV317d

- Allegro moderato

- Andante sostenuto

-Rondo


B. Crusell

Quartet No. 2 Opus 4

- Allegro molto agitato

- Menuetto

- Pastoral

-Rondo

O.Respighi
- Aria Italiana
- Aria di Corte

 

R. Kokai
Quartettino

- Sonatina

- Scherzino

- Canzonetta

Those who are famous expose themselves to imitation, pastiche and parody. But sometimes, very sometimes, imitators match or exceed their model. This program pays homage to the superior forgers of Mozart and other great names.

The Clarinet Quartet KV 317d is Mozart, but not quite: Mozart wrote it, but not for clarinet and string trio.  It is assumed that the publisher Johann Anton André distilled from two violin sonatas and a piano trio, which were among the 300 autographs he bought from Constanze after Mozart's death. In any case, the arrangement for quartet is so skilfully realized that it has nothing to envy to the originals.


Radio composers who do not want to program Mozart's Clarinet Concerto again, like to turn to one of the three concertos by Bernard Crusell (1775-1838), the most important Finnish composer before Sibelius. Crusell was an innovative clarinet virtuoso, as evidenced by his second clarinet quartet, which, according to the reviewer of the Allgemeine Muzikalische Zeitung, is "actually a concerto in disguise" with a soloist and accompanying strings.


Few composers have suffered so much from the epithet "pastiche" as Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936). Respighi was the most important Italian composer of the early 20th century, but he is best remembered as an arranger of period music. The Aria Italiana and the Aria di Corte come from the Antiche arie e danze, a series of suites in which Respighi distills orchestral versions of 16th-century lute pieces. He does it so masterfully that we honor him as a "re-storyteller" as well.


Finally, the nostalgic Quartettino by the Hungarian Rezső Kókai (1952) imitates nothing and no one, but in its neo-classical rhapsodic frivolity, it recalls Mozart. Or almost Mozart...

The Roeland Hendrikx Ensemble focuses on the rich repertoire for clarinet, piano and strings. Although he gave the ensemble its name and is its driving force and inspiration, Roeland works exclusively with peers and like-minded musicians. He chose them for their technical and expressive craftsmanship, but more importantly for the individuality they bring to the chemistry of playing together. Because the Roeland Hendrikx Ensemble is a fixed ensemble that remains faithful to a small number of musicians, it can function - much more than occasional formations - as a laboratory in which diverse minds and styles work together towards a point of fusion. crushing.
The ensemble debuted on "Klara in deSingel" in 2015 and has since performed for many top concert halls and festivals, including Concertgebouw Bruges, deSingel Antwerp, Festival Flanders, and more. Composers Piet Swerts, Alain Craens and Mathias Coppens, among others, have already dedicated works to the ensemble.

Roeland Hendrikx | clarinet played solo clarinet in the National Orchestra of Belgium for many years.  In 2017, however, he resolutely opted for a solo career.  As a soloist he has performed with, among others, The London Philharmonic Orchestra, Orchester philharmonique royal de Bankok, The Belgian National Orchestra, Brussels Philharmonic, I Fiamminghi, De Beethoven Academie, Boho Strings, Casco Phil, Ataneres, l Georgian Philharmonic Orchestra and Lithuanian Symphony Orchestra. He also remains a passionate defender of chamber music, notably with his own ensemble Roeland Hendrikx.  Roeland teaches at the Maastricht Conservatory and at the LUCA School of Arts in Leuven.


Nicholas Dupont | violin is certainly one of the most active Belgian chamber musicians of his generation.  As a member of the Kugoni trio, the Malibran quartet, the Argenta trio and the Andaluza duo, he has performed in venues such as Wigmore Hall, St Martin-in-the-Fields (UK), Bozar, Flagey, AMUZ, deSingel and Concertgebouw Brugge (BE). He is also a member of the Young European String Camerata and the English Chamber Orchestra. These chamber orchestras took him to major concert halls such as the Liszt Academy (Budapest), the Musikverein (Vienna) and the Barbican (London). Nicolas teaches at the Brussels Conservatory.


Sander Geerts | alto has been the conductor of the violas of the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra since 2008. He has been a soloist with various ensembles and orchestras, including the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, Philharmonie Baden-Baden and The London Philharmonic Orchestra. With the pianist Yasuko Takahasi, he forms the "Duo Agineko". This duo has won several awards at international competitions, such as the International Young Performers Competition in Madeira (Portugal), the Yong Musician International Chamber Music Competition in Barletta (Italy) and the International Brahms Competition in Pörtschach (Austria).


Sébastien Walnier |  is the principal cello of the La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra (Brussels).  He began his cello studies at a very young age, in the classroom by Laurent Chantraine. At the age of 13, he won the first prize at the Royal Conservatory of Liège (Belgium). Four years later, he obtained the higher diploma in cello (with Maryse Douin) and the higher diploma in chamber music (with Cécile Evrard). From 2001 to 2008, he taught chamber music at the same conservatory. He perfected his technique with Edmond Carlier, a pupil of André Navarra, but it was his meeting with Roland Pidoux at the CNSM in Paris that marked a decisive stage in his development. Finally, he received the teaching of Daria Hovora and Michaël Hentz. As a soloist and chamber musician, Sébastien Walnier performs in a wide variety of contexts and ensembles, including a duo with Alexander Gurning (piano) and a string trio with cellist Lorenzo Gatto and violist Diederik Suys. In 2012, Sébastien Walnier received the Musician of the Year Award from the Union de la Presse Musicale Belge. He plays a cello by Giovanni Grancino from 1699, which was lent to him by a private patron.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

Luca088-2-2.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

ENSEMBLE ROELAND HENDRIKX

Dimanche 26 mars 2023 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

ENSEMBLE ROELAND HENDRIKX

Roeland Hendrikx - clarinette


Nicolas Dupont - violon


Sander Geerts - alto

Sebastien Walnier - violoncelle

Programme:

W.A. Mozart

Quatuor KV317d

- 
Allegro moderato


- Andante sostenuto


- Rondo


B. Crusell


Quatuor n° 2 Opus 4

- Allegro molto agitato


- Menuetto

- 
Pastorale

- 
Rondo

O. Respighi
- Aria Italiana
- Aria di Corte

 

R. Kókai

Quartettino

- Sonatina


- Scherzino


- Canzonetta

Ceux qui sont célèbres s'exposent à l'imitation, au pastiche et à la parodie. Mais parfois, très parfois, les imitateurs égalent ou dépassent leur modèle. Ce programme rend hommage aux faussaires supérieurs de Mozart et d'autres grands noms.

Le Quatuor avec clarinette KV 317d est Mozart, mais pas tout à fait : Mozart l'a écrit, mais pas pour clarinette et trio à cordes.  On suppose que l'éditeur Johann Anton André l'a distillée à partir de deux sonates pour violon et d'un trio pour piano, qui faisaient partie des 300 autographes qu'il a achetés à Constanze après la mort de Mozart. En tout cas, l'arrangement pour quatuor est si habilement réalisé qu'il n'a rien à envier aux originaux.


Les radios compositeurs qui n'ont pas envie de programmer à nouveau le Concerto pour clarinette de Mozart, aiment se tourner vers l'un des trois concertos de Bernard Crusell (1775-1838), le plus important compositeur finlandais avant Sibelius. Crusell était un virtuose novateur de la clarinette, comme en témoigne son deuxième quatuor pour clarinette, qui, selon le critique de l'Allgemeine Muzikalische Zeitung, est "en fait un concerto déguisé" avec un soliste et des cordes d'accompagnement.


Peu de compositeurs ont autant souffert de l'épithète "pastiche" qu'Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936). Respighi était le plus important compositeur italien du début du XXe siècle, mais on se souvient surtout de lui comme d'un arrangeur de musique d'époque. L'Aria Italiana et l'Aria di Corte proviennent des Antiche arie e danze, une série de suites dans lesquelles Respighi distille des versions orchestrales de pièces pour luth du XVIe siècle. Il le fait de manière si magistrale que nous l'honorons également comme un "re-conteur".   


Enfin, le nostalgique Quartettino du Hongrois Rezső Kókai (1952) n'imite rien ni personne, mais dans sa frivolité rhapsodique néo-classique, il rappelle Mozart. Ou presque de Mozart ...

L'Ensemble Roeland Hendrikx, se concentre sur le riche répertoire pour clarinette, piano et cordes. Bien qu'il ait donné son nom à l'ensemble, qu'il en soit la force motrice et l'inspiration, Roeland travaille exclusivement avec des pairs et des musiciens partageant les mêmes idées. Il les a choisis pour leur savoir-faire technique et expressif, mais surtout pour l'individualité qu'ils apportent à la chimie du jeu ensemble. Parce que l'Ensemble Roeland Hendrikx est un ensemble fixe qui reste fidèle à un petit nombre de musiciens, il peut fonctionner - bien plus que des formations occasionnelles - comme un laboratoire dans lequel des esprits et des styles divers travaillent ensemble vers un point de fusion écrasant.
L'ensemble a fait ses débuts sur "Klara in deSingel" en 2015 et a depuis joué pour de nombreuses salles de concert et festivals de premier plan, dont le Concertgebouw Bruges, deSingel Anvers, le Festival de Flandre, etc. Les compositeurs Piet Swerts, Alain Craens et Mathias Coppens, entre autres, ont déjà dédié des œuvres à l'ensemble.

Roeland Hendrikx | clarinette a joué la clarinette solo dans l'Orchestre National de Belgique pendant de nombreuses années.  En 2017, cependant, il a résolument opté pour une carrière solo.  En tant que soliste, il a joué avec, entre autres, The London Philharmonic Orchestra, l'Orchestre philharmonique royal de Bankok, The Belgian National Orchestra, Brussels Philharmonic, I Fiamminghi, De Beethoven Academie, Boho Strings, Casco Phil, Ataneres, l'Orchestre philharmonique de Géorgie et l'Orchestre symphonique de Lituanie. Il reste également un défenseur passionné de la musique de chambre, notamment avec son propre ensemble Roeland Hendrikx.  Roeland enseigne au conservatoire de Maastricht et à la LUCA School of Arts de Louvain.


Nicolas Dupont | violon est certainement l'un des chambristes belges les plus actifs de sa génération.  En tant que membre du trio Kugoni, du quatuor Malibran, du trio Argenta et du duo Andaluza, il s'est produit dans des salles telles que le Wigmore Hall, St Martin-in-the-Fields (UK), Bozar, Flagey, AMUZ, deSingel et le Concertgebouw Brugge (BE). Il est également membre de la Young European String Camerata et de l'English Chamber Orchestra. Ces orchestres de chambre l'ont conduit dans de grandes salles de concert telles que l'Académie Liszt (Budapest), le Musikverein (Vienne) et le Barbican (Londres). Nicolas enseigne au Conservatoire de Bruxelles.


Sander Geerts | alto est le chef des altos de l'’Antwerp Symphony Orchestra depuis 2008. Il a été soliste avec divers ensembles et orchestres, dont l'Antwerp Symphony Orchestra, la Philharmonie Baden-Baden et The London Philharmonic Orchestra. Avec la pianiste Yasuko Takahasi, il forme le "Duo Agineko". Ce duo a remporté plusieurs prix lors de concours internationaux, tels que le concours international des jeunes interprètes à Madère (Portugal), le concours international de musique de chambre Yong Musician à Barletta (Italie) et le concours international Brahms à Pörtschach (Autriche).


Sébastien Walnier |  est le violoncelle solo de l'Orchestre symphonique de La Monnaie (Bruxelles).  Il a commencé ses études de violoncelle très jeune, dans la classe de Laurent Chantraine. À l'âge de 13 ans, il remporte le premier prix du Conservatoire royal de Liège (Belgique). Quatre ans plus tard, il obtient le diplôme supérieur de violoncelle (avec Maryse Douin) et le diplôme supérieur de musique de chambre (avec Cécile Evrard). De 2001 à 2008, il a enseigné la musique de chambre dans ce même conservatoire. Il perfectionne sa technique avec Edmond Carlier, élève d'André Navarra, mais c'est sa rencontre avec Roland Pidoux au CNSM de Paris qui marque une étape décisive dans son évolution. Enfin, il a reçu l'enseignement de Daria Hovora et de Michaël Hentz. En tant que soliste et chambriste, Sébastien Walnier se produit dans une grande variété de contextes et d'ensembles, notamment un duo avec Alexander Gurning (piano) et un trio à cordes avec le violoncelliste Lorenzo Gatto et l'altiste Diederik Suys. En 2012, Sébastien Walnier a reçu le Prix du Musicien de l'année de l'Union de la Presse Musicale Belge. Il joue d'un violoncelle de Giovanni Grancino de 1699, qui lui a été prêté par un mécène privé.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png