20220621_220907_edited.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

BNO QUINTET

Sunday, June 4, 2023 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

BNO QUINTET

Leo Wouters & Ward Opsteyn - trumpet
Anthony Devriendt - horn
Sander Vets - trombone
Stijn Aertgeerts - bass tuba

Program: to be defined

Leo Wouters received his first music lessons from his grandfather Leonard Hermans, after which he attended the musical high school at the Lemmens Institute. After obtaining his first prize in music theory, he continued his studies in trumpet and chamber music.

He became laureate in both disciplines. Subsequently, he obtained the higher diplomas in trumpet and chamber music, both with great distinction, in the class of Mr. Léon Pétré.
For five years, Leo Wouters was principal trumpet of the Beethoven Academy, he became principal trumpet of the National Orchestra of Belgium. He also works regularly with the Orchester de La Monnaie, the Philharmonie and others. He also performs regularly as a soloist with the National Orchestra of Belgium, the Frascati Symphonic and others.
Leo Wouters is also a member of various ensembles, including the Belgian Brass trio, the Gabriëli brass quintet and the Gabriëli brass ensemble, with which he has performed at various festivals in Belgium and abroad. He has performed with these ensembles in Italy, France, England, Spain and Mexico.

He also teaches trumpet and chamber music at the Luca art school in Louvain.

Ward Opsteyn began his musical career at the music academy in Lanaken and continued his studies at the Lemmens Institute in Leuven in the trumpet class of Léon Pétré. He obtained first prizes in music theory, harmony and practical harmony, a master's degree in chamber music and a specialization diploma in trumpet. After his studies at the Lemmens Institute, he combined teaching with higher trumpet studies with Peter Masseurs, then principal trumpet of the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra Amsterdam. During this period, he performed regularly as a freelance musician with, among others, the Flanders Philharmonic Orchestra (today the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra) and the VRT Orchestra (today the Brussels Philharmonic Orchestra).
Since January 2000, Ward has been a permanent member of the National Orchestra of Belgium as principal trumpet. He has also been active in various brass ensembles, not only as a performer but also as an arranger. With the Gabriëli Koperkwintet, he has made several CD recordings on which you can find his arrangements and transcriptions.
Jazz and light music have also been part of his musical universe since a young age. As a young teenager, he took part in various jazz lessons and, during his training at the Lemmens Institute, he was taught by Bert Joris, among others, and played in the big band directed by Frank Vaganée. More recently, he took jazz piano lessons with Stan Driesen. In his music, one often hears a deliberate mixture of different musical styles. His vast knowledge of jazz and classical harmony and all manner of orchestration techniques has proven useful in some unique projects. He has worked with, among others, jazz trumpeter Sam Vloemans and pianist Florian Verschueren to translate their compositions into the world of hafabra. Within the framework of United Music of Brussels, he made special arrangements of music by Marocking Brass and Zwangere Guy, among others, for the horns of the ONB. He also regularly arranges music for the National Orchestra of Belgium for school and other productions.

Anthony Devriendt began his music studies at the Roeselare Academy. In 2000, he decided to start a professional musical training at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels in the class of Luc Bergé, where he obtained his master's degree in 2006. In addition, he followed several master classes with, among others, Nico de Marchi, Radovan Vladkovic, Claude Maury, Kerry Turner and Ivo Hadermann.
After a period as a freelance musician with various orchestras in Belgium and abroad, he was appointed principal horn of the National Orchestra of Belgium in 2009. He is also active as a chamber musician with, among others, I soloist del vento and has performed several times as a soloist with, among others, the Royal Guides' Band.
He teaches horn at the LUCA School of Arts in Louvain and horn at the Kunsthumaniora Lemmensinstituut.

Sander Vets - trombone,  is currently studying at the Royal Conservatory of Antwerp. Previously, he obtained his bachelor's degree at the Amsterdam Conservatory. He took his first steps as a trombonist with Mark Joris in 2004. Later, in 2009, he continued his studies with Carlo Mertens; first at the Academy of Music in Brasschaat, then at the Kunsthumaniora van Brussel, where he graduated in June 2015. It was under his wing that Sander took part in a number of competitions. For example, in 2011 he won the second prize in the "Marnixfactor" competition. With this competition he competed again in 2013 and won the first prize. In the same year, Sander took part in the "Vlamo soloists competition". Here he finished third with 93.5%. In 2014 he took part in the "Belfius Classics", finishing as the winner of the competition.
He participated in masterclasses with several renowned trombonists such as Bruno Flahou (2013), Ian Bousfield (2013, 2017, 2019), Zoltan Imre Kiss (2013), Stefan Schulz (2014) and Joseph Alessi (2019). He was also taught by Michel Tilkin (professor at the Lemmens Institute), José Schyns (professor at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels), Jan Smets (professor at the Royal Conservatory of Antwerp) and Jörgen van Rijen (professor at the Conservatory of 'Amsterdam).
Sander is regularly called upon as a trombonist in various orchestras including the Flemish Chamber Orchestra, the European Philharmonia, the Royal Guides' Band, the orchestra of the Opera of Flanders and the National Orchestra of Belgium, but also in the Netherlands with the Noord Nederlands Orkest and the Orkest van het Oosten. His film music recordings are also part of his oeuvre. For example, he played the music for the Dutch film Redbad which was released in June 2018. In addition to his activity as a trombonist, Sander is also asked to compose sections for television shows and concerts, and to compose ensembles for festivals such as the Delft Chamber Music Festival or the Rotterdam Gergiev Festival.

Stijn Aertgeerts - tuba bass , born December 21, 1992, took his first steps into the world of music at the age of 6 at KF De Goorse Bloesem in Heist-Goor (Heist op-den Berg). There he received his first flugelhorn lessons from Geert Van Looy.
Then Stijn went to the municipal music academy in Heist op-den Berg for music theory and instrument lessons. A few years later, Arthur Vanderhoeft asked him to broaden his musical qualities at the Antwerp Music Academy, where he studied bugle and cornet. Thanks to Arthur Vanderhoeft, Stijn had the opportunity to play with the European Youth Brass Band in 2006. This was during the European Brass Band Championships in Belfast. A year later, he participated again as a cornetist in the European Youth Brass Band in Birmingham. He repeated it twice in Montreux and in Oslo on the bass Eb. In Birmingham, Stijn Aertgeerts was approached by Frans Violet with the question of joining the Young Brass Band Willebroek.
This challenge was taken up and less than a year later, in consultation with Arthur Vanderhoeft, the group switched to the Eb bass. After a few months Stijn played with the Brass Band Willebroek where he is still active. Frans Violet becomes his new teacher at the Kunsthumaniora van Brussel, where Stijn graduates two years later.
In the meantime, Stijn has won several titles at provincial and national championships. Stijn took masterclasses with internationally renowned bass players such as Sergio Carolino, Les Neish and Øystein Baadsvik and was invited to James Gourlay for lessons.
In 2010 Stijn continued his studies at the Antwerp Conservatory, where he studied with Frans Violet and Hendrik-Jan Renes. He then continued his studies at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels, where he obtained his master's degree in tuba. He also took a composition and conducting course there.

Stijn has played in orchestras in Belgium, the Netherlands, France, Germany and Norway.
He has also performed with various professional orchestras such as the Flanders Opera Orchestra, the Muntschouwburg Orchestra and the National Orchestra of Belgium.
As a composer, Stijn is very active. He mainly writes for Brass Band, Concert Band and Fanfare. He won the Familie Van Riet prize in the under-25s section. He has already written works for Brass Band Willebroek, Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag, KF Moed & Volharding, KF De Ware Eendracht Schiek and many others. Stijn has also written several works for soloists such as Jeroen Corneillie, Lode Violet and Kevin Van Giel. Stijn is also conductor at KF De Ware Eendracht, KF Sint-Huibrecht and Brass Band Burgipja.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

20220621_220907.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

QUINTET BNO

Dimanche 4 juin 2023 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

QUINTET BNO

Leo Wouters & Ward Opsteyn - trompette
Anthony Devriendt - cor
Sander Vets - trombone
Stijn Aertgeerts - tuba bass

Programme: à définir

Leo Wouters a reçu ses premières leçons de musique de son grand-père Leonard Hermans, après quoi il a fréquenté le lycée musical de l'Institut Lemmens. Après avoir obtenu son premier prix de solfège, il poursuit ses études en trompette et en musique de chambre.

Il est devenu lauréat dans les deux disciplines. Par la suite, il obtient les diplômes supérieurs de trompette et de musique de chambre, tous deux avec grande distinction, dans la classe de M. Léon Pétré.
Pendant cinq ans, Leo Wouters a été trompette solo de l'Académie Beethoven, il est devenu trompette solo de l'Orchestre national de Belgique. Il travaille aussi régulièrement avec l'Orchestre de La Monnaie, la Philharmonie et d'autres. Il se produit aussi régulièrement en solo avec l'Orchestre national de Belgique, le Frascati Symphonic et d'autres.
Leo Wouters est également membre de divers ensembles, dont le Belgian Brass trio, le quintette de cuivres Gabriëli et l'ensemble de cuivres Gabriëli, avec lesquels il s'est produit dans divers festivals en Belgique et à l'étranger. Il s'est produit avec ces ensembles en Italie, en France, en Angleterre, en Espagne et au Mexique.

Il enseigne également la trompette et la musique de chambre à l'école des arts Luca à Louvain.

Ward Opsteyn a commencé sa carrière musicale à l'académie de musique de Lanaken et a poursuivi ses études à l'Institut Lemmens de Louvain dans la classe de trompette de Léon Pétré. Il a obtenu les premiers prix de solfège, d'harmonie et d'harmonie pratique, une maîtrise en musique de chambre et un diplôme de spécialisation en trompette. Après ses études à l'Institut Lemmens, il a combiné l'enseignement avec des études supérieures de trompette avec Peter Masseurs, alors trompette solo de l'Orchestre royal du Concertgebouw d'Amsterdam. Au cours de cette période, il se produit régulièrement en tant que musicien indépendant avec, entre autres, l'Orchestre philharmonique de Flandre (aujourd'hui l'Orchestre symphonique d'Anvers) et l'Orchestre de la VRT (aujourd'hui l'Orchestre philharmonique de Bruxelles).
Depuis janvier 2000, Ward est membre permanent de l'Orchestre national de Belgique en tant que trompette solo. Il a également été actif dans divers ensembles de cuivres, non seulement en tant qu'interprète mais aussi en tant qu'arrangeur. Avec le Gabriëli Koperkwintet, il a réalisé plusieurs enregistrements CD sur lesquels on peut trouver ses arrangements et ses transcriptions.
Le jazz et la musique légère font également partie de son univers musical depuis son plus jeune âge. Jeune adolescent, il participe à divers cours de jazz et, pendant sa formation à l'Institut Lemmens, il reçoit l'enseignement de Bert Joris, entre autres, et joue dans le big band dirigé par Frank Vaganée. Plus récemment, il a pris des cours de piano jazz avec Stan Driesen. Dans sa musique, on entend souvent un mélange volontaire de différents styles musicaux. Sa vaste connaissance de l'harmonie jazz et classique et de toutes sortes de techniques d'orchestration s'est avérée utile dans certains projets uniques. Il a travaillé avec, entre autres, le trompettiste de jazz Sam Vloemans et le pianiste Florian Verschueren pour traduire leurs compositions dans le monde de la hafabra. Dans le cadre de United Music of Brussels, il a réalisé des arrangements spéciaux de musique de Marocking Brass et de Zwangere Guy, entre autres, pour les cors de l'ONB. Il arrange aussi régulièrement des musiques pour l'Orchestre national de Belgique pour des productions scolaires et autres.

Anthony Devriendt a commencé ses études de musique à l'Académie de Roulers. En 2000, il décide d'entamer une formation musicale professionnelle au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles dans la classe de Luc Bergé, où il obtient son diplôme de master en 2006. En outre, il a suivi plusieurs master classes avec, entre autres, Nico de Marchi, Radovan Vladkovic, Claude Maury, Kerry Turner et Ivo Hadermann.
Après une période en tant que musicien indépendant avec différents orchestres en Belgique et à l'étranger, il a été nommé cor principal de l'Orchestre national de Belgique en 2009. Il est également actif en tant que musicien de chambre avec, entre autres, I soliste del vento et s'est produit plusieurs fois en tant que soliste avec, entre autres, le Royal Guides' Band.
Il enseigne le cor à la LUCA School of Arts de Louvain et le cor au Kunsthumaniora Lemmensinstituut.

Sander Vets - trombone,  étudie actuellement au Conservatoire royal d'Anvers. Auparavant, il a obtenu son diplôme de bachelier au conservatoire d'Amsterdam. Il a fait ses premiers pas en tant que tromboniste avec Mark Joris en 2004. Plus tard, en 2009, il a poursuivi ses études avec Carlo Mertens ; d'abord à l'Académie de musique de Brasschaat, puis à la Kunsthumaniora van Brussel, où il a obtenu son diplôme en juin 2015. C'est sous son aile que Sander a participé à un certain nombre de compétitions. Par exemple, en 2011, il a remporté le deuxième prix du concours "Marnixfactor". Avec ce concours, il a concouru à nouveau en 2013 et a remporté le premier prix. La même année, Sander a participé au "concours de solistes Vlamo". Ici, il a terminé troisième avec 93,5 %. En 2014, il a participé aux " Belfius Classics ", terminant comme lauréat du concours.
Il a participé à des masterclasses avec plusieurs trombonistes de renom tels que Bruno Flahou (2013), Ian Bousfield (2013, 2017, 2019), Zoltan Imre Kiss (2013), Stefan Schulz (2014) et Joseph Alessi (2019). Il a également reçu l'enseignement de Michel Tilkin (professeur à l'Institut Lemmens), José Schyns (professeur au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles), Jan Smets (professeur au Conservatoire royal d'Anvers) et Jörgen van Rijen (professeur au Conservatoire d'Amsterdam).
Sander est régulièrement sollicité comme tromboniste dans divers orchestres dont le Flemish Chamber Orchestra, l'European Philharmonia, le Royal Guides' Band, l'orchestre de l'Opéra de Flandre et l'Orchestre National de Belgique, mais aussi aux Pays-Bas avec le Noord Nederlands Orkest et l'Orkest van het Oosten. Ses enregistrements de musique de film font également partie de son œuvre. Par exemple, il a joué la musique du film néerlandais Redbad qui est sorti en juin 2018. En plus de son activité de tromboniste, Sander est également sollicité pour composer des sections pour des émissions de télévision et des concerts, et pour composer des ensembles pour des festivals tels que le Delft Chamber Music Festival ou le Rotterdam Gergiev Festival.

Stijn Aertgeerts - tuba bass, né le 21 décembre 1992, fait ses premiers pas dans le monde de la musique à l'âge de 6 ans au K.F De Goorse Bloesem à Heist-Goor (Heist op-den Berg). Il y reçoit ses premières leçons de bugle de Geert Van Looy.
Ensuite, Stijn est allé à l'académie municipale de musique de Heist op-den Berg pour des cours de solfège et d'instruments. Quelques années plus tard, Arthur Vanderhoeft lui demande d'élargir ses qualités musicales à l'Académie de musique d'Anvers, où il étudie le bugle et le cornet. Grâce à Arthur Vanderhoeft, Stijn a eu l'occasion de jouer avec l'European Youth Brass Band de 2006. Ceci à l'occasion des Championnats européens de Brass Band à Belfast. Un an plus tard, il participe à nouveau en tant que cornettiste à l'European Youth Brass Band à Birmingham. Il l'a répété deux fois à Montreux et à Oslo sur la basse mib. A Birmingham, Stijn Aertgeerts a été approché par Frans Violet avec la question de rejoindre le Young Brass Band Willebroek.
Ce défi a été relevé et moins d'un an plus tard, en concertation avec Arthur Vanderhoeft, le groupe est passé à la basse Mib. Après quelques mois, Stijn a joué avec le Brass Band Willebroek où il est toujours actif. Frans Violet devient son nouveau professeur à la Kunsthumaniora van Brussel, où Stijn obtient son diplôme deux ans plus tard.
Entre-temps, Stijn a remporté plusieurs titres aux championnats provinciaux et nationaux. Stijn a suivi des masterclasses avec des bassistes de renommée internationale tels que Sergio Carolino, Les Neish et Øystein Baadsvik et a été invité chez James Gourlay pour des cours.
En 2010, Stijn a poursuivi ses études au Conservatoire d'Anvers, où il a étudié avec Frans Violet et Hendrik-Jan Renes. Il a ensuite poursuivi ses études au Conservatoire royal de Bruxelles, où il a obtenu sa maîtrise en tuba. Il y a également suivi un cours de composition et de direction d'orchestre.

Stijn a joué dans des orchestres en Belgique, aux Pays-Bas, en France, en Allemagne et en Norvège.
Il a également joué avec divers orchestres professionnels tels que l'Orchestre de l'Opéra de Flandre, l'Orchestre du Muntschouwburg et l'Orchestre national de Belgique.
En tant que compositeur, Stijn est très actif. Il écrit principalement pour Brass Band, Concert Band et Fanfare. Il a remporté le prix Familie Van Riet dans la section des -25 ans. Il a déjà écrit des œuvres pour le Brass Band Willebroek, Eikanger-Bjørsvik Musikklag, K.F. Moed & Volharding, K.F. De Ware Eendracht Schiek et bien d'autres. Stijn a également écrit plusieurs œuvres pour des solistes tels que Jeroen Corneillie, Lode Violet et Kevin Van Giel. Stijn est également chef d'orchestre au K.F. De Ware Eendracht, au K.F. Sint-Huibrecht et au Brass Band Burgipja.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png