Philippe Graffin -borggreve 28_edited.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN

Sunday January 29, 2023 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN - violin

KATSURA MIZUMOTO - piano "LUTHEAL"

Program: “In the shades of forests”

Ernst von Dohnanyi (1877 - 1960)

- “andante rubato alla zingaresca” for violin and luteal

George Enesco (1881 - 1955)

- third sonata “in the popular Romanian style” op 25

Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918)

- "more than slow" for violin and lutheal

- Minstrels - transcription for violin and piano

Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937)

- “Lullaby on the name of Gabriel Fauré”

- Tzigane, version for violin and lutheal

Hearing Radicz the place where you are disappears… (1910) 

He is a man who loves music much better than most of us, and gives you, in the banal setting of a coffee room, the illusion of sitting in the shade of forests.

January 8, 1911, Claude Debussy about the Hungarian gypsy musician Radicz . 

 

The Luthéal   is a piano on which is installed a device invented by the Instrument Maker  Belgian Georges Cloetens allowing to modify the _cc781905-5cde-3194-bb5breb-58d_tim of the instrument and to imitate sounds such as the harp, the harpsichord, or the Cymbalum. 

The first composer to use this invention was Ravel, for his “tzigane” for which he composed a specific score, using the various possibilities of the instrument through all the variations of the work. 

It was this same search for the sonority of the cimbalom that inspired Debussy to write a part for cimbalom for his arrangement of his “more than slow” in 1912. 

The original instrument for which Ravel composed his gypsy arrangement and which he will also include in 'l'enfant et les sortilèges' prompted me   to commission a new work from the composer Philippe Hersant, Il a few years ago, for violin and lutheal.

Inspired by Debussy   this program goes in search of stamps that seem to come to us from the depths of the ages, from the origin of the world, to the depths of ourselves, "in the shade of the forests". . (Philippe Graffin, October 2022)

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN

"His understanding of the idiom is second to none" ( Gramophone Magazine : Saint-Saëns concertos / Hyperion).

His passionate interpretations, his instantly recognizable sound, his numerous rediscoveries and creations which have enriched the repertoire, make Philippe Graffin one of the most outstanding French violinists of his generation. 

 

A pupil of Josef Gingold in the United States (disciple of Ysaye) and of Philippe Hirschhorn in particular, Philippe Graffin was a laureate of the Fritz Kreisler Competition in Austria where Lord Menuhin discovered him and invited him to record his first album under his direction.

Philippe Graffin soon moved to England where over the next twenty years he made numerous recordings and participated in prestigious concerts. 

He has shared the stage with some of the iconic artists of our time such as Mstislav Rostropovich,  Sir Yehudi Menuhin, Sir Roger Norrington, Yannick Nezé-Séguin, Sergiu Comissiona, Russian composer and pianist Rodion Shchedrin, Ivry Gitlis or the actors Gérard Depardieu and  Marie Christinne Barrault, for example.

 

Many composers have written and dedicated their   works to Philippe Graffin: the Russian composer Rodion Shchedrin ("Concerto parlando"), David Matthews (his concerto n°2), the Lithuanian composer Vytautas Barkauskas (" Jeux" for violin and orchestra, as well as his double concerto with violist Nobuko Imai). Philippe also premiered Yves Prin's concerto, and several works written for him by Philippe Hersant.

Recently, he premiered and recorded English composer Peter Fribbins' concerto, specially written for him. 

He has been invited to prestigious festivals such as the BBC Proms, Gstaad Festival, Enescu Festival in Bucharest, Radio-France Festival, Kuhmo (Finland), Rotterdam Gergiev Festival, the "Folles Journées de Nantes", Festival Musique 3 ( Brussels), the "Printemps du violon" (Paris), Pablo Casals festival.

His discography is very rich and already includes fifty discs, including more than thirty concertos (a large part of them being recorded for the first time).

As a chamber musician, Philippe has been a guest at the Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society in New York, and regularly   at Wigmore Hall in London. He is also the founder of "Consonances", a festival in Saint-Nazaire which he directed for 25 years.

He also created   several festivals around the composer Eugène Ysaye, at the Wigmore Hall in London, with the Orchester de la Résidence de la Haye, as well as in Brussels and _cc781905-5cde-3194-bb3b -136bad5cf58d_in Knokke-le-Zoute in Belgium, where the great violinist had his summer residence. 

 

Likewise, he invited the actor Gérard Depardieu for a concert-poetry event   "The night belongs to us" in Flagey, Brussels, broadcast by Belgian television, and of which a documentary was realized . 

 

Philippe has recently discovered, completed, edited and played for the first time an unpublished sonata for solo violin by the composer Eugène Ysaÿe, 

“Posthumous sonata op 27 bis”, written at the same time as the famous six sonatas. A work that he recorded as a world premiere, plays in many countries, from Japan to Europe via the United States, notably during the Ysaÿe festival in Brussels organized by La Chapelle musicale Reine Élisabeth.

He participated in the documentary produced by the RTBF, “Ysaÿe is not dead”,  as well as directed the film “Ysaÿe's secret sonata” on the discovery of this sonata. (Ysaye) 

 

His latest recordings include “fiddlers's blues” with Claire Desert, for Avie Records, to critical acclaim and “crescendo” magazine's record of the month.

“A la valse” around the octet of Enesco, “la valse” by Ravel and Debussy, Britten's concerto with the London Philharmonia ("Disc of the month" for Gramophone Magazine), as well as concertos by Mendelssohn and by Schumann with the Padua Chamber Orchestra, and works for violin and orchestra by Joseph Jongen with the Antwerp Orchestra, for hyperion records . 

He has just recorded Lalo's “Spanish Synphony” with the Scottish National Orchestra. 

 

In 2020 philippe Graffin created the “traces” festival whose mission is to discover rare works and composers who disappeared during the holocaust. 

Philippe Graffin teaches at the Royal Conservatory of Brussels and at the CNSM in Paris.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

Philippe Graffin -borggreve 28_edited.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN

Dimanche 29 janvier 2023 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN - violon

KATSURA MIZUMOTO - piano " LUTHEAL"

Programme: “ In the shades of forests “

Ernst von Dohnányi (1877 - 1960)

- “andante rubato alla zingaresca “ pour violon et lutheal

Georges Enesco (1881 - 1955)

- troisième sonate “dans le style populaire roumain” op 25

Claude Debussy (1862 - 1918)

- "la plus que lente" pour violon et lutheal

- Minstrels - transcription pour violon et piano

Maurice Ravel (1875 - 1937)

- “berceuse sur le nom de Gabriel Fauré”

- Tzigane, version pour violon et lutheal

En entendant Radicz l’endroit où l’on est disparaît… (1910) 

C’est un homme qui aime la musique beaucoup mieux que la plupart de nous tous, et vous donne, dans le décor banal d’une salle de café, l’illusion d’être assis à l’ombre des forêts.

8 janvier 1911, Claude Debussy à propos du musicien tzigane hongrois Radicz . 

 

Le luthéal est un piano sur lequel est installé un dispositif inventé par le Facteur d’instruments  belge Georges Cloetens permettant de modifier le  timbre de l’instrument et d’imiter des sons tels que la harpe, le clavecin, ou le Cymbalum. 

Le premier compositeur à utiliser cette invention fut Ravel, pour son “tzigane” pour lequel il composa une partition spécifique, utilisant les divers possibilités de l’instrument à travers toutes les variations de l’œuvre. 

C’est cette même recherche de la sonorité du cymbalum qui inspira Debussy à écrire une partie pour cymbalum pour son arrangement de sa “ plus que lente” en 1912. 

L’instrument original pour lequel Ravel composa son arrangement de tzigane et qu’il incluera aussi dans ‘l’enfant et les sortilèges’ m’incita   à commander une nouvelle œuvre au compositeur Philippe Hersant , Il y a quelques années , pour violon et lutheal.

Inspiré par Debussy  ce programme part à la recherche de timbres qui semblent nous parvenir du fond des âges, de l’origine du monde, au plus profond de nous meme, “ a l’hombre des forêts “ . (Philippe Graffin , octobre 2022 )

PHILIPPE GRAFFIN

"His understanding of the idiom is second to none" (Gramophone Magazine : Saint-Saëns concertos / Hyperion).

Ses interprétations passionnées, sa sonorité reconnaissable entre milles, ses nombreuses redécouvertes et creations qui ont enrichies le répertoire, font de philippe Graffin l’un des violonistes français les plus marquant de sa génération. 

 

Élève de Josef Gingold aux États-Unis (disciple d'Ysaye) et de philippe Hirschhorn notamment, Philippe Graffin est lauréat du Concours Fritz Kreisler en Autriche où Lord Menuhin le découvre et l'invite à enregistrer son premier disque sous sa direction.

philippe Graffin s’installe bientôt en Angleterre où au cours des vingts années suivantes il y realise de nombreux enregistrements et participe à des concerts prestigieux. 

Il a partagé la scène avec certains des artistes emblématiques de notre époque tels que Mstislav Rostropovich,  Sir Yehudi Menuhin, sir Roger Norrington, Yannick Nezé-Séguin, Sergiu Comissiona, le compositeur et pianiste russe Rodion Shchedrin, Ivry Gitlis ou les acteurs Gérard Depardieu et  Marie Christinne Barrault , par exemple.

 

De nombreux compositeurs ont écris et dédiés leurs  œuvres à Philippe Graffin : le compositeur russe Rodion Shchedrin ("Concerto parlando"), David Matthews (son concerto n°2), le compositeur lituanien Vytautas Barkauskas ("Jeux" pour violon et orchestre, ainsi que son double concerto avec l'altiste Nobuko Imai). Philippe a également créé le concerto de Yves Prin, et de plusieurs œuvres écrites pour lui par Philippe Hersant.

Récemment, il a créé et enregistré le concerto du compositeur anglais Peter Fribbins, spécialement écrit pour lui. 

Il a été invité dans des festivals prestigieux tels que les BBC Proms, festival de Gstaad, Enescu Festival à Bucarest, Festival de Radio-France, Kuhmo (Finlande), Rotterdam Gergiev Festival, les "Folles Journées de Nantes", Festival Musique 3 (Bruxelles), le "Printemps du violon" (Paris), festival Pablo Casals .

Sa discographie est très riche et comprend déjà une cinquantaine de disques, dont plus d'une trentaine de concertos (une grande partie d'entre eux étant enregistrée pour la première fois).

En tant que chambriste, Philippe a été invité à la Lincoln Center Chamber Music Society de New York, et régulièrement  au Wigmore Hall de Londres. Il est également le fondateur de "Consonances", festival de Saint-Nazaire qu'il a dirigé pendant 25 ans.

Il a également créé  plusieurs festivals autour du compositeur Eugène Ysaye, au Wigmore Hall de Londres, avec l'Orchestre de la Résidence de la Haye, ainsi qu’à Bruxelles et  à Knokke-le -Zoute en Belgique, où le grand violoniste avait sa résidence d’été. 

 

De même, il a invité l'acteur Gérard Depardieu pour un événement de concerts-poésie   « La nuit nous appartient" à Flagey, Bruxelles , retransmis par la télévision belge, et dont un documentaire a été réalisé . 

 

Philippe à récemment découvert, terminé, édité et joué pour la première fois une sonate pour violon seul inédite du compositeur Eugène Ysaÿe, 

“Sonate posthume op 27 bis” , écrite à la même époque que les célèbres six sonates. Œuvre qu’il a enregistré en première mondiale, joue dans de nombreux pays, du Japon à l’Europe en passant par les États Unis, notamment lors du festival Ysaÿe à Bruxelles organisé par La Chapelle musicale reine Élisabeth .

Il a participé au documentaire réalisé par la RTBF , “Ysaÿe is not dead “,  ainsi que réalisé le film “Ysaÿe’s secret sonata “ sur la découverte de cette sonate. (Ysaye ) 

 

Ses derniers enregistrements incluent “ fiddlers ‘s blues” avec Claire Desert , pour Avie Records , salué par la critique et disque du mois du magazine “crescendo”. 

“A la valse “ autour de l’octuor d’Enesco , “la valse” de Ravel et Debussy, le concerto de Britten avec le Philharmonia de Londres ("Disque du mois" pour Gramophone Magazine), ainsi que les concertos de Mendelssohn et de Schumann avec l'orchestre de chambre de Padua, et les œuvres pour violon et orchestre de Joseph Jongen avec l'orchestre de Anvers, pour hyperion records . 

Il vient d’enregistrer la “synphonie Espqgnole” de Lalo avec l’orchestre national d’Ecosse. 

 

En 2020 philippe Graffin créé le festival “traces” qui a pour mission de faire découvrir des œuvres rares et des compositeurs ayant disparus pendant l’holocauste. 

Philippe Graffin enseigne au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles et au CNSM de Paris.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png