KK206308_2.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

MARCEL JOHANNES KITS

Sunday, December 18, 2022 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels

MARCEL JOHANNES KITS - cello

NAOKO SONADA - piano

Program:

Alfred Schnittke (1934 - 1998)

- Sonata for cello and piano

Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897)

- Wie Melodien sieht es mir, op 105, n°1

- 6 lieder, op 86 n°2 (Feldeinsamkeit)

- Scherzo from FAE Sonata

Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)

- sonata for cello and piano op 65

Marcel Johannes Kits - cello

Estonian cellist Marcel Johannes Kits is one of the most promising young cellists of his generation, having won the 3rd prize at the Queen Elisabeth Cello Competition and 1st prize at the George Enescu competition in Romania. He's also the 1st prize winner at the Johannes Brahms competition in Austria and at the major competitions in Estonia (TV competition “Classical Stars” and National String Competition).

His upcoming highlights this summer are a tour in Belgium with the Belgian National Orchestra under conductor Eivind Aadland and a tour in Estonia and South Korea with the Estonian Festival Orchestra under conductor Paavo Järvi.

He has performed as soloist with many orchestras such as the Brussels Philharmonic, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Latvian National SO, Lithuanian State Symphony Orchestra, St. Petersburg Symphony Orchestra, Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, Kymi Sinfonietta, Jyväskylä Sinfonia, Tallinn Chamber Orchestra, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, Novosibirsk Chamber Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, Südwestdeutsches Kammerorchester Pforzheim, George Enescu Philharmonic Orchestra, Jena Philharmonic Orchestra, Israel SO Rishon LeZion, Orchestra Ensemble Kanazawa, etc., and has worked with conductors such as Stéphane Denève, Vahan Mardirossian, Vassily Sinaisky, Olari Elts, Andres Mustonen, Risto Joost, Gintaras Rinkevičius, Yuwon Kim, Tõnu Kaljuste, Ville Matvejeff, Arvo Volmer, Mihkel Kütson and many others. 

He's played as the guest principal cello in the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra in Munich and plays regularly in the Estonian Festival Orchestra.

He has given recitals also in China and Japan and performed at venues such as Bozar and Flagey in Brussels, the grand hall of the St. Petersburg Philharmonia, Moscow Conservatory, grand hall of Hamburg Elbphilharmonie, grand hall of Konzerthaus Berlin, Berliner Philharmonie, Boulez Saal, Laeiszhalle Hamburg, Prinzregententheater München, Romanian Athenaeum, Tel Aviv Opera House and Jerusalem Theatre.
He's been invited to perform at festivals such as Pärnu Music Festival, Young Euro Classic, Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Musical Olympus Festival, MustonenFest Tel Aviv etc.

Being passionate about chamber music, he has played from the age of 9 in the piano trio Trio '95 with Robert Traksmann (violin) and Rasmus Andreas Raide (piano).

Marcel showed great interest in the cello when he was just four years old, and began his first lessons at the age of five. He studied with Laine Leichter and Mart Laas in Tallinn Music High School. From 2014, he studied with prof. Francis Gouton at Trossingen University of Music and from 2018 he is continuing his studies at the Berlin University of the Arts with prof. Jens Peter Maintz.

He has participated in masterclasses of Steven Isserlis, prof. Ivan Monighetti, Prof. David Geringas, Prof. Maria Kliegel, Prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, Prof. Wen-Sinn Yang, Prof. Jan-Erik Gustafsson, prof. Marko Ylonen and many others.

He receives a scholarship from the International Academy of Music in Liechtenstein and participates regularly in the intensive music weeks and activities offered by the Academy. He is supported by Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben, Cultural Endowment of Estonia and Association of Estonian Professional Musicians, which awarded him the “Musician of the year” prize in 2019.

Marcel plays an Italian cello made by Francesco Ruggeri (Cremona, 1674) and a bow made by Victor Fetique, both kindly on loan to him by the Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben.

Naoko Sonada - piano

Japanese-born pianist Naoko Sonoda is a prize-winner of several international piano and chamber music competitions, including those in Argento and Trieste (Italy), as well as the Łódź Competition (Poland). Solo and chamber music concert invitations have taken her throughout Europe, Asia, US and South America and to festivals such as Schleswig-Holstein Festival, Meckle-Vorpommern and Verbier Festival. Chamber music partners include Santiago Cañón Valencia, Hartmut Rohde, Mark Gothoni, Danjulo Ishizaka, Jens-Peter Maintz, and Andrei Ionita. She has performed with such renowned orchestras as the Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, and has been heard in world-class venues, most notably the Berliner Philharmonie in Germany, Mariinsky Theater Concert Hall in St.Petersburg, Teatro Mayor in Bogota and Carnegie Hall in NY.

Ms. Sonoda is in high demand as a collaborative pianist; she received prizes as best collaborative pianist at the International Music Competition in Markneukirchen (2013, 2019 ), the Lutosławski International Cello Competition in Warsaw (2015, 2018), and the XV International Tchaikovsky Competition (2015, 2019). Her performances are regularly broadcast on international radio and TV, including Kulturradio RBB, ZDF and BR in Germany, NPO Radio 4 in Netherlands, Radio Romania, NHK-FM in Japan and the BBC. 

 

Ms. Sonoda studied with Yoko Okumura, Seiko Ezawa and Mikhail Voskresensky at the Toho Gakuen School of Music, before studying at the Universität der Künste in Berlin with Rainer Becker. She also studied chamber music with Tabea Zimmermann, Markus Nyikos and Natalia Gutman. 

She has taken masterclasses with Hans Leygraf, Ferenc Rados, Klaus Hellwig, Pascal Devoyon and Jacques Rouvier. After graduating, Naoko was engaged by the Universität der Künste in Berlin, the Hochschule für Musik Hanns-Eisler Berlin and the Franz Liszt Musikhochschule in Weimar as a collaborative pianist.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

KK206308_2.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

MARCEL JOHANNES KITS

Dimanche 18 décembre 2022 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

MARCEL JOHANNES KITS - violoncelle

NAOKO SONADA - piano

Programme:

Alfred Schnittke (1934 - 1998)

- Sonate pour violoncelle et piano

Johannes Brahms (1833 - 1897)

- Wie Melodien sieht es mir, op 105, n°1

- 6 lieder, op 86 n°2 (Feldeinsamkeit)

- Scherzo from F-A-E Sonata

Benjamin Britten (1913 - 1976)

- sonate pour violoncelle et piano op 65

Marcel Johannes Kits - violoncelle

Le violoncelliste estonien Marcel Johannes Kits est l'un des jeunes violoncellistes les plus prometteurs de sa génération, ayant remporté le 3e prix du concours de violoncelle Reine Elisabeth et le 1er prix du concours George Enescu en Roumanie. Il a également remporté le 1er prix au concours Johannes Brahms en Autriche et aux principaux concours en Estonie (concours télévisé "Classical Stars" et concours national de cordes).
Ses prochains temps forts cet été sont une tournée en Belgique avec l'Orchestre national de Belgique sous la direction d'Eivind Aadland et une tournée en Estonie et en Corée du Sud avec l'Estonian Festival Orchestra sous la direction de Paavo Järvi.
Il s'est produit en tant que soliste avec de nombreux orchestres tels que le Brussels Philharmonic, l'Orchestre symphonique national d'Estonie, le SO national de Lettonie, l'Orchestre symphonique d'État de Lituanie, l'Orchestre symphonique de St. Petersbourg, l'Orchestre symphonique de Jérusalem, le Kymi Sinfonietta, le Jyväskylä Sinfonia, l'Orchestre de chambre de Tallinn, l'Orchestre de chambre de Moscou, l'Orchestre de chambre de Novosibirsk, l'Orchestre de chambre de Munich, la Württembergische Philharmonie Reutlingen, le Südwestdeutsches Kammerorchester Pforzheim, l'Orchestre philharmonique George Enescu, l'Orchestre philharmonique d'Iéna, l'Israel SO Rishon LeZion, l'Orchestre Ensemble Kanazawa, etc, et a travaillé avec des chefs d'orchestre tels que Stéphane Denève, Vahan Mardirossian, Vassily Sinaisky, Olari Elts, Andres Mustonen, Risto Joost, Gintaras Rinkevičius, Yuwon Kim, Tõnu Kaljuste, Ville Matvejeff, Arvo Volmer, Mihkel Kütson et bien d'autres.
Il a joué en tant que violoncelle solo invité dans l'Orchestre symphonique de la Radio bavaroise à Munich et joue régulièrement dans l'Orchestre du Festival d'Estonie.
Il a donné des récitals en Chine et au Japon et s'est produit dans des salles telles que le Bozar et le Flagey à Bruxelles, la grande salle de la Philharmonie de Saint-Pétersbourg, le Conservatoire de Moscou, la grande salle de l'Elbphilharmonie de Hambourg, la grande salle du Konzerthaus de Berlin, la Philharmonie de Berlin, la Boulez Saal, la Laeiszhalle de Hambourg, le Prinzregententheater de Munich, l'Athénée roumain, l'Opéra de Tel Aviv et le Théâtre de Jérusalem.
Il a été invité à se produire dans des festivals tels que le Pärnu Music Festival, Young Euro Classic, Festspiele Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, Musical Olympus Festival, MustonenFest Tel Aviv, etc.
Passionné par la musique de chambre, il joue depuis l'âge de 9 ans dans le trio de piano Trio '95 avec Robert Traksmann (violon) et Rasmus Andreas Raide (piano).
Marcel a montré un grand intérêt pour le violoncelle dès l'âge de quatre ans et a commencé ses premières leçons à l'âge de cinq ans. Il a étudié avec Laine Leichter et Mart Laas au lycée musical de Tallinn. À partir de 2014, il a étudié avec le prof. Francis Gouton à l'Université de musique de Trossingen et depuis 2018, il poursuit ses études à l'Université des arts de Berlin avec le prof. Jens Peter Maintz.
Il a participé aux masterclasses de Steven Isserlis, prof. Ivan Monighetti, prof. David Geringas, prof. Maria Kliegel, prof. Wolfgang Emanuel Schmidt, prof. Wen-Sinn Yang, prof. Jan-Erik Gustafsson, prof. Marko Ylönen et bien d'autres.
Il bénéficie d'une bourse de l'Académie internationale de musique du Liechtenstein et participe régulièrement aux semaines et activités musicales intensives proposées par l'Académie. Il est soutenu par la Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben, la Dotation culturelle d'Estonie et l'Association des musiciens professionnels estoniens, qui lui a décerné le prix du "Musicien de l'année" en 2019.
Marcel joue sur un violoncelle italien fabriqué par Francesco Ruggeri (Crémone, 1674) et un archet fabriqué par Victor Fetique, tous deux aimablement prêtés par la Deutsche Stiftung Musikleben.

Naoko Sonada - piano

La pianiste Naoko Sonoda, née au Japon, est lauréate de plusieurs concours internationaux de piano et de musique de chambre, notamment ceux d'Argento et de Trieste (Italie), ainsi que du concours Łódź (Pologne). Des invitations à des concerts en solo et en musique de chambre l'ont conduite à travers l'Europe, l'Asie, les États-Unis et l'Amérique du Sud, ainsi qu'à des festivals tels que le Schleswig-Holstein Festival, Meckle-Vorpommern et Verbier Festival. Parmi ses partenaires de musique de chambre figurent Santiago Cañón Valencia, Hartmut Rohde, Mark Gothoni, Danjulo Ishizaka, Jens-Peter Maintz et Andrei Ionita. Elle s'est produite avec des orchestres renommés tels que le Deutsches Symphonie-Orchester Berlin, et a été entendue dans des salles de classe mondiale, notamment la Berliner Philharmonie en Allemagne, la salle de concert du théâtre Mariinsky à Saint-Pétersbourg, le Teatro Mayor à Bogota et le Carnegie Hall à New York.
Mme Sonoda est très demandée en tant que pianiste de collaboration ; elle a reçu les prix du meilleur pianiste de collaboration au Concours international de musique de Markneukirchen (2013, 2019 ), au Concours international de violoncelle Lutosławski de Varsovie (2015, 2018) et au XVe Concours international Tchaïkovski (2015, 2019). Ses prestations sont régulièrement diffusées à la radio et à la télévision internationales, notamment sur Kulturradio RBB, ZDF et BR en Allemagne, NPO Radio 4 aux Pays-Bas, Radio Romania, NHK-FM au Japon et la BBC.
Mme Sonoda a étudié avec Yoko Okumura, Seiko Ezawa et Mikhail Voskresensky à l'école de musique Toho Gakuen, avant d'étudier à l'Universität der Künste de Berlin avec Rainer Becker. Elle a également étudié la musique de chambre avec Tabea Zimmermann, Markus Nyikos et Natalia Gutman.
Elle a suivi des masterclasses avec Hans Leygraf, Ferenc Rados, Klaus Hellwig, Pascal Devoyon et Jacques Rouvier. Après avoir obtenu son diplôme, Naoko a été engagée par l'Universität der Künste de Berlin, la Hochschule für Musik Hanns-Eisler Berlin et la Franz Liszt Musikhochschule de Weimar en tant que pianiste collaboratrice.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png