DUJARDINKEROURIO.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

OLIVIER KER OURIO

IVAN PADUART

 

Sunday May 22, 2022 - 12:30 p.m.

 

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels

OLIVIER KER OURIO - chromatic harmonica

IVAN PADUART - piano

​​

Program: Tribute to Toots Thielemans (Toots 100)

OLIVIER KER OURIO

Olivier Ker Ourio (OKO) has been based in Paris since 1992, after a childhood spent on Reunion Island, Olivier Ker Ourio is today recognized as one of the best chromatic jazz harmonica players on the planet.

Hailed by critics as the worthy successor of Toots Thielemans, Ker Ourio is not only a much requested soloist (Alexandre Desplat, Sylvain Luc, Marcel Azzola, Michel Legrand, Didier Lockwood, Danyel Waro ...), but also a brilliant composer and inspired leader. Expressive and warm, his music favors emotion and goes straight to the heart.

In his 11 albums recorded to date, his compositions reveal a poetic world inhabited by lyrical melodies, inventive harmonies and unusual rhythms. The world of OKO is soulful. His last opus “Singular Insularity” was released in 2020, recorded with his island companions: Grégory Privat (piano / fender rhodes, Martinique), Gino Chantoiseau (bass, Mauritius), Arnaud Dolmen (drums, Guadeloupe), Inor Sotolongo (percussions , Cuba).

WHAT THE PRESS SAYS ABOUT HIM:

“This master of the voluptuous trajectory .... Haute couture on a volatile fabric, shooting stars within reach, what a soloist! The vibrating metallic reed - at the origin of the sound of the harmonica and accordion - has rarely known so much flexibility ... "- Le Monde (FR)

“... Toots Thielemans gave birth to musical sons like Olivier Ker Ourio who continue to emotionally honor the 'mouth organ' in his happy wake. "-Télérama (FR)

"CD de L'Orkès Péï" - CHOC Jazzmagazine (FR)
"OKO is to French jazz what Jean-Jacques Milteau is to blues: THE benchmark" - Liberation (FR)

“In the family of“ blowers ”, he is a very privileged brotherhood, blessed by the gods. These are the musicians whose breath is naturally colored with music. As soon as they mouth their instrument, whether it is a saxophone, a trumpet, a flute or a harmonica, the music is there, immediately, without detour or escape. Like an evidence that immediately plunges the listener into a state of weightlessness by the only truth of the inner song that it imposes. This lyrical supplement is called the charm. Lester Young, Miles Davis, Chet Bak er, Stan Getz and a few others knew how to tame this gift which makes it possible to transform the breath into this "something blue which seemed like a wing" (Victor Hugo). Olivier Ker Ourio undoubtedly belongs to this chosen tribe. "- Jazzman (FR)

IVAN PADUART

With 32 nominative CDs and a hundred international festivals to his name, pianist Ivan Paduart is one of the most active jazzmen of his generation at BENELUX.

In a short time, the pianist-composer has forged a style that has earned him the recognition of some luminaries of the genre, such as Richard Galliano (3 CDs together on the IGLOO label), Tom Harrell, Toots Thielemans (whom he accompanied for two years on many European stages), Manu Katché (with Richard Galliano, then in other projects…), Didier Lockwood, Philip Catherine (2 albums together, numerous concerts…), Claude Nougaro (promotional tour of the album Chansongs), Bob Malach (5 albums together), Bert Joris, Richard Bona, Peter King, Nigel Hitchcock, Sylvain Luc, Tim Armacost, Tineke Postma, Toon Roos, Rick Margitza, Deborah Brown and all the other musicians with whom he has worked in recent years. His recordings are as many journeys in the most varied formulas (solo, duo, trio, quartet, sextet, large orchestra…).

His last two CDs (Hand in hand and Ear we are) are the fruit of an intense collaboration with Patrick Deltenre, who was Maurane's guitarist for more than 20 years.

His friendship with Olivier Ker Ourio dates back to 2001 and their first collaboration in 2015, on the album Catharsis (with Quentin Dujardin, Manu Katché, Richard Bona and Bert Joris).

Awards

- 1987 1st prize at the “KNACK TROPHY”, Oostende
- 1989 1st prize at the “JAZZ-RALLYE”, Brussels
- 1989 2nd prize at the “international jazz defense competition”, Paris
- 1990 1st prize at the “international competition for French-language radios”, Brussels
- 1992 1st prize at the “international competition of jazz compositions”, Monaco
- 1993 1st prize for composition “NICOLAS DOR” at the “international jazz festival in Liège”

TLOTT_LOGO+TOOTS100.png
Toots100_logo_RGB.png
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
MGConcerts.png

DUJARDINKEROURIO.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

OLIVIER KER OURIO

IVAN PADUART

 

le dimanche 22 mai 2022 - 12h30

 

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

OLIVIER KER OURIO - harmonica chromatique

IVAN PADUART - piano

Programme: Hommage à Toots Thielemans (Toots 100)

OLIVIER KER OURIO

Olivier Ker Ourio (OKO) est établi à Paris depuis 1992, après une enfance passée à l’île de la Réunion, Olivier Ker Ourio est aujourd’hui reconnu comme l’un des meilleurs harmonicistes chromatiques de jazz de la planète.

Salué par les critiques comme le digne successeur de Toots Thielemans, Ker Ourio est non seulement un soliste très demandé (Alexandre Desplat, Sylvain Luc, Marcel Azzola, Michel Legrand, Didier Lockwood, Danyel Waro...), mais également un brillant compositeur et leader inspiré. Expressive et chaleureuse, sa musique privilégie l’émotion et va droit du coeur.

Dans ses 11 albums enregistrés à ce jour, ses compositions dévoilent un monde poétique habité de mélodies lyriques, d’harmonies inventives et de rythmes inhabituels. Le monde d’ OKO a le souffle de l’âme. Son dernier opus “Singular Insularity” est paru en 2020, enregistré avec ses compagnons insulaires : Grégory Privat (piano/fender rhodes, Martinique), Gino Chantoiseau (basse, Île Maurice), Arnaud Dolmen (batterie, Guadeloupe), Inor Sotolongo (percussions, Cuba).

CE QUE LA PRESSE DIT DE LUI:

« Ce maître de la trajectoire voluptueuse....De la haute couture sur une étoffe volatile, des étoiles filantes à portée de lèvres, quel soliste ! L’anche métallique vibrante – à l’origine du son de l’harmonica et de l’accordéon – a rarement connu autant de souplesse...»– Le Monde (FR)

« ...Toots Thielemans a donné naissance à des fils musicaux comme Olivier Ker Ourio qui continuent d’honorer avec émotion « l’orgue à bouche » dans son sillage heureux. » -Télérama (FR)

« CD de L’Orkès Péï » – CHOC Jazzmagazine (FR)
« OKO est au jazz français ce que Jean-Jacques Milteau est au blues: LA référence » – Libération (FR)

« Dans la famille des « soufflants », il est une confrérie très privilégiée, bénie des dieux. Ce sont les musiciens dont le souffle est naturellement coloré de musique. Dès qu’ils embouchent leur instrument, que ce soit un saxophone, une trompette, une flûte ou un harmonica, la musique est là, tout de suite, sans détour ni échappatoire. Comme une évidence qui plonge d’emblée l’auditeur en état d’apesanteur par la seule vérité du chant intérieur qu’elle impose. Ce supplément lyrique s’appelle le charme. Lester Young, Miles Davis, Chet Bak er, Stan Getz et quelques autres ont su apprivoiser ce don qui permet de transformer le souffle en ce « quelque chose de bleu qui paraissait une aile » (Victor Hugo). Olivier Ker Ourio appartient sans nul doute à cette tribu d’élus. » – Jazzman (FR)

IVAN PADUART

Avec 32 CDs nominatifs et une centaine de festivals internationaux à son palmarès, le pianiste Ivan Paduart est un des jazzmen les plus actifs de sa génération au BENELUX.

En peu de temps, le pianiste-compositeur s’est forgé un style qui lui a valu la reconnaissance de quelques sommités du genre, tels Richard Galliano (3 CDs ensemble sur le label IGLOO), Tom Harrell, Toots Thielemans (qu’il accompagna pendant deux ans sur de nombreuses scènes européennes), Manu Katché (avec Richard Galliano, puis dans d’autres projets…), Didier Lockwood, Philip Catherine (2 albums ensemble, de nombreux concerts…), Claude Nougaro (tournée promotionnelle de l’album Chansongs), Bob Malach (5 albums ensemble), Bert Joris, Richard Bona, Peter King, Nigel Hitchcock, Sylvain Luc, Tim Armacost, Tineke Postma, Toon Roos, Rick Margitza, Deborah Brown et tous les autres musiciens avec qui il a travaillé ces dernières années. Ses enregistrements sont autant de voyages dans des formules les plus variées (solo, duo, trio, quartet, sextet, grand orchestre…).

Ses deux derniers CDs (Hand in hand et Ear we are) sont le fruit d’une intense collaboration avec Patrick Deltenre, qui fût pendant plus de 20 ans le guitariste de Maurane.

Son amitié avec Olivier Ker Ourio remonte à 2001 et leur première collaboration à 2015, sur l’album Catharsis (avec Quentin Dujardin, Manu Katché, Richard Bona et Bert Joris).

Awards

– 1987 1er prix au “KNACK TROPHY”, Oostende
– 1989 1er prix au “JAZZ-RALLYE”, Bruxelles
– 1989 2ème prix au “concours international de jazz de la défense”, Paris
– 1990 1er prix au “concours international des radios de langue française”, Bruxelles
– 1992 1er prix au “concours international de compositions jazz”, Monaco
– 1993 1er prix de composition “NICOLAS DOR” au “festival international de jazz à Liège”

TLOTT_LOGO+TOOTS100.png
Toots100_logo_RGB.png
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
MGConcerts.png