04.Gaelle Solal photographe Romain Chambodut.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

GAELLE SOLAL

Saturday November 12, 2022 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

GAËLLE SOLAL - Guitar

Program:

Giulio Regondi

Reverie-Nocturne op.19

 

Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco

Sonata Ommagio a Boccherini

  1. Allegro con spirito 

  2. Andantino almost canzone

  3. Tempo di minute 

  4. Vivo ed energetico

 

Heitor Villa-Lobos (1887-1959)

Brazilian Popular Suite. 

1. Mazurka-choro 

2. Schottisch-choro

3. Valsa-choro

4. Gavota-choro 

5. Chorino

 

Roland Dyens (1955-2016)

Tribute to Villa-Lobos. 

I. Climazonia

II. Characteristic dance and bachianinha

III. Andantinostalgia

IV. Tuhu

“Guitarist Gaëlle Solal is a real phenomenon. She demonstrates it here, with panache, within a musicality where the finesse of the game is not the least asset. One of the greatest classical guitar recordings of the last ten years. Everything here is perfect balance, virtuosity full of emotion, tangible breathtaking musicality, in a detailed and precise sound recording to perfection.” OpusHD.net

The daughter of music-loving parents, Gaëlle Solal discovered the classical guitar at the age of five, during a small concert in a backyard that took on the appearance of a revelation. She entered the Marseille Conservatory the following year, where René Bartoli taught her the guitar according to the rules of the art, of the game... and of the challenge! Against the advice of her teachers in Terminale, who saw a bright future for her in business school or mathematics, she entered the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique in Paris at the age of 16. There are dreams that stick to your skin and this child's notebook on which is noted: "When I grow up, I want to be a dancer and a musician" can testify to it.

From the Conservatory, Gaëlle keeps the vibrant memory of a masterclass by Léo Brouwer, a famous Cuban composer, who selected her for the recital of the best students. After three years, not devoid of some adversity, she completed the CNSM with the 1st Guitar Prize unanimously, the DFS with honors and a multiplied will. Playful, ambitious and feverish at the idea of missing out on a new challenge, she took part in international competitions alongside her Masters at the Hochschule für Musik in Cologne. In 1998, she became the first Frenchwoman to win one of the greatest classical guitar competitions, the Alessandria competition (unique fact:  the second prize will not be awarded). This Grand Prix marks the beginning of his international career. Finalist of the Concert Artist Guild of New York, the Forum Guitar Wien, the Benicasim International Competition and the René Bartoli International Competition, Gaëlle has won twelve prizes in national and international competitions. She is also an honorary laureate of the Beracasa Foundation, Meyer Foundation, Emma Contestabile Foundation, Fundación La Caixa, BNP Paribas Foundation, Accademia Chigiana and Societe Generale Patronage.

In the early 2000s, Gaëlle Solal moved to Andalusia where she obtained a post as associate professor at the Superior Conservatories of Cordoba and Seville. During these seven years of teaching, she never stops learning and follows masterclasses around the world, notably those of Roland Dyens, Oscar Ghiglia, Antigoni Goni, Alvaro Pierri and Joaquin Clerch. In 2002, CulturesFrance selected her for the Déclic Series. Tours will follow in India, Africa, Southeast Asia, the United States, Mexico, Canada and Germany.

In 2006, after ten years with the Astor duo, Gaëlle Solal resumed her solo career, immediately winning second prize from the prestigious Guitar Foundation of America and performing in more than forty countries: at the Purcell Room in London, the Salle Cortot, the Mogador theatre, the Corum hall in Montpellier, the Grand Théâtre de Bordeaux, the Oji Hall in Tokyo, the Concert Hall in Kyoto, the Teatro Maestranza in Seville, the Teatro Comunale in Alexandria, the Merkin Hall in New York, at the Organization of American States in Washington, at Zellerbach Hall in Berkeley, at the Centennial Concert Hall in Winnipeg and for the festivals of Radio France in Montpellier, the Flâneries musicales in Reims and the Festival de Torroella de Montgrí.

Gaëlle loves chamber music and collaborations: Astor guitar duo, with choreographer and breakdancer Julien Carlier, as a chamber musician with mezzo soprano Sarah Théry, clarinettists Florent Héau and Antonio Salguero, bandoneonist Jérémy Vannereau, Choeur Nicolas de Grigny , the Allegri Ensemble, the Variatio choir, the Zahir ensemble and as a soloist with the Berkeley Symphony, the Republican Guard Orchestra, the Turin Philharmonic Orchestra and the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. Passionate about contemporary music, she performed the first performance of Maurice Ohana's concerto in Italy, the world premiere of Naomi Sekiya's concerto with Kent Nagano as well as the premiere of three new pieces at the Córdoba International Guitar Festival. Composer Elodie Bouny has just dedicated the Nodus concerto for guitar and orchestra to him.

In 2009, an unexpected getaway to Brazil took a new turn in his career. It's the endless rodas that rekindle his curiosity and childlike excitement for a music that is played only to the rhythm of pleasure, emotions and freedom. On her return, Gaëlle unpacks from her suitcases a host of scores and a new vitality. She gave up teaching to devote herself fully to her infinite love for the stage and to everything she would like to learn: tap dancing, mimes, clowning, beatboxing, contemporary dance, jazz and popular music, theatrical improvisation... From all these experiences will be born the show Crazy Nails in duet with Boris Gaquere, which merges clownish acting and music of all styles, as well as the program of the album “Tuhu”.

More attached to freedom than to dogma, Gaëlle Solal goes smoothly from the solemn solo in a long dress to the clownish duet, from Bach to the Beatles, from contemporary music to baroque music. Committed and united, she fights for the presence and visibility of women in the world of the guitar and in the programming of concerts and festivals through the Guitar'Elles association of which she is the founder. She has lived in Brussels since 2011 and teaches at the Royal Conservatory of Ghent.

Solo discography
2007 Maestri della Chitarra. Seicord Review
2012 Chaconnes & Passacailles. Riverside records
2020 Tuhu. Eudora Records
Holdings
1998 Guitar More. flight. 30. Mandala / Harmonia Mundi
2002 CulturesFrance/Radio France. Declic Series
2003 Arnaud Dumond: works for guitar. Ad hoc
2010 Guitar of the XXI century. Eric Penicaud. Quantum

 

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

04.Gaelle Solal photographe Romain Chambodut.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

GAËLLE SOLAL

Samedi 12 novembre 2022 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

GAËLLE SOLAL - Guitare

Programme:

Heitor VILLA-LOBOS
Mazurka-Chôro
Chôros No. 1


Ernesto NAZARETH (Arrgt Gaëlle Solal)
Brejeiro

Antonio Carlos JOBIM (Arrgt Paulo Bellinati)
Chora Coração

Heitor VILLA-LOBOS
Schottish-Chôro

Heitor VILLA-LOBOS
Prélude No. 2

Egberto GISMONTI (Arrgt Gaëlle Solal)

Agua e Vinho

GAROTO (Arrgt Gaëlle Solal)
Lamentos do Morro

Roland DYENS
Saudade No. 3

Baden POWELL
Berimbau

Roland DYENS
Hommage à Villa-Lobos: IV. Tuhu

“La guitariste Gaëlle Solal est un véritable phénomène. Elle le démontre ici, avec panache, au sein d’une musicalité où la finesse de jeu n’est pas le moindre atout. L'un des plus grands enregistrements consacrés à la guitare classique de ces dix dernières années. Tout ici est équilibre parfait, virtuosité pleine d'émotion, musicalité tangible à couper le souffle, dans une prise de son détaillée et précise à la perfection.” OpusHD.net

Fille de parents mélomanes, Gaëlle Solal découvre la guitare classique à cinq ans, lors d’un petit concert dans une arrière-cour qui prend des allures de révélation. Elle entre au Conservatoire de Marseille l’année suivante, où René Bartoli lui enseigne la guitare dans les règles de l’art, du jeu… et du défi ! Contre l’avis de ses professeur.e.s de Terminale, qui lui voient un brillant avenir en école de commerce ou en mathématiques, elle entre au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris à l’âge de 16 ans. Il y a des rêves qui vous collent à la peau et ce carnet d’enfant sur lequel est noté: « Quand je serai grande, je veux être danseuse et musicienne » peut en témoigner.

Du Conservatoire, Gaëlle garde le souvenir vibrant d’une masterclasse de Léo Brouwer, célèbre compositeur cubain, qui la sélectionne pour le récital des meilleur.e.s élèves. Après trois années, non dénuées de quelques adversités, elle achève le CNSM avec le 1er Prix de guitare à l’unanimité, le DFS mention très bien et une volonté démultipliée. Joueuse, ambitieuse et fébrile à l’idée de passer à côté d’un nouveau défi, elle participe à des concours internationaux en parallèle de son Master à la Hochschule für Musik de Cologne. En 1998, elle devient la première Française à gagner l’un des plus grands concours de guitare classique, le concours d’Alessandria (fait unique:  le deuxième prix ne sera pas attribué). Ce grand prix marque le début de sa carrière internationale. Finaliste de la Concert Artist Guild de New York, du Forum Guitar Wien, du Concours International de Benicasim et du Concours International René Bartoli, Gaëlle a remporté douze prix dans des concours nationaux et internationaux. Elle est aussi lauréate d’honneur de la Fondation Beracasa, Fondation Meyer, Fondation Emma Contestabile, Fundación La Caixa, Fondation BNP Paribas, de l’Accademia Chigiana et Mécénat Société Générale.

Au début des années 2000, Gaëlle Solal s’installe en Andalousie où elle décroche un poste de professeure agrégée aux Conservatoires supérieurs de Cordoue et de Séville. Pendant ces sept années d’enseignement, elle ne cesse jamais d’apprendre et suit des masterclasses à travers le monde, notamment celles de Roland Dyens, Oscar Ghiglia, Antigoni Goni, Alvaro Pierri et Joaquin Clerch. En 2002, CulturesFrance la sélectionne dans la Série Déclic. Suivront des tournées en Inde, Afrique, Asie du Sud-Est, États-Unis, Mexique, Canada et Allemagne.

En 2006, après dix ans au sein du duo Astor, Gaëlle Solal reprend sa carrière solo, gagne dans la foulée le deuxième prix de la prestigieuse Guitar Foundation of America et se produit dans plus de quarante pays : à la Purcell Room de Londres, la salle Cortot, au théâtre Mogador, la salle Corum de Montpellier, au Grand Théâtre de Bordeaux, à l’Oji Hall de Tokyo, au Concert Hall de Kyoto, au Teatro Maestranza de Séville, au Teatro Comunale d’Alexandrie, au Merkin Hall de New York, à l’Organisation des États américains de Washington, au Zellerbach Hall de Berkeley, au Centennial Concert Hall de Winnipeg et pour les festivals de Radio France à Montpellier, les Flâneries musicales à Reims et le Festival de Torroella de Montgrí.

Gaëlle affectionne la musique de chambre et les collaborations: duo de guitares Astor, avec le chorégraphe et breakdancer Julien Carlier, en chambriste avec la mezzo soprano Sarah Théry, les clarinettistes Florent Héau et Antonio Salguero, le bandonéoniste Jérémy Vannereau, le Chœur Nicolas de Grigny, l’Ensemble Allegri, le choeur Variatio, l'ensemble Zahir et en soliste avec le Berkeley Symphony, l’Orchestre de la Garde Républicaine, l’Orchestre Philharmonique de Turin et le Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. Passionnée de musique contemporaine, elle réalise la première interprétation du concerto de Maurice Ohana en Italie, la création mondiale du concerto de Naomi Sekiya avec Kent Nagano ainsi que la création de trois nouvelles pièces lors du Festival international de la guitare de Córdoba. La compositrice Elodie Bouny vient de lui dédier le concerto Nodus pour guitare et orchestre.

En 2009, une escapade inespérée au Brésil fait prendre un nouveau tournant à sa carrière. Ce sont les rodas interminables qui raniment sa curiosité et son excitation enfantine pour une musique qui ne se joue qu’au rythme du plaisir, des émotions et de la liberté. A son retour, Gaëlle déballe de ses valises une foule de partitions et un nouvel élan vital. Elle renonce à l’enseignement pour se consacrer pleinement à son amour infini pour la scène et à tout ce qu’elle aimerait apprendre : claquettes, mimes, clown, beatbox, danse contemporaine, jazz et musiques populaires, improvisation théâtrale… De toutes ces expériences naîtra le spectacle Crazy Nails en duo avec Boris Gaquere, qui fusionne jeu clownesque et musiques de tout style, ainsi que le programme de l’album “Tuhu”.

Plus attachée à la liberté qu’au dogme, Gaëlle Solal passe sans encombre du solo solennel en robe longue au duo clownesque, de Bach aux Beatles, de la musique contemporaine à la musique baroque. Engagée et solidaire, elle se bat pour la présence et la visibilité des femmes dans le monde de la guitare et dans les programmations de concerts et de festivals à travers l’association Guitar’Elles dont elle est la fondatrice. Elle réside à Bruxelles depuis 2011 et enseigne au Conservatoire Royal de Gand.

Discographie en solo
2007 Maestri della Chitarra. Revue Seicorde
2012 Chaconnes & Passacailles. Riverside records
2020 Tuhu. Eudora Records
Participations
1998 Guitare Plus. vol. 30. Mandala / Harmonia Mundi
2002 CulturesFrance/Radio France. Série Déclic
2003 Arnaud Dumond: works for guitar. Ad'Hoc
2010 Guitare du XXI siècle. Eric Pénicaud. Quantum

 

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png