CHAMERTONES TRIO Black 2.jpg

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

CHAMBERTONES TRIO

Sunday April 16, 2023 - 12 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels
Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png

CHANBERTONES TRIO

Lorenzo Di Maio - Guitar

Sam Gerstmans - double bass

Jean-Paul Estiévenart - trumpet

Program:

SLAM (J. Hall)

Waltz new (J.Hall)

Zara and Carlos (L. Di Maio)

Without a song (W. Rose)

All across the city (J. Hall)

Mela (L. Di Maio)

I hear a rhapsody ( G. Fragos, J. Backer)

Two's blues (J. Hall) 

Chambertones Trio

Born from the complicity that has linked its three musicians for many years, the Chambertones trio will come together around a repertoire that will honor the music of the great Jim Hall.
Embellished with the poetry of its performers, this trio will offer a chamber jazz with contrasting atmospheres that creates a bridge between the tradition of jazz and a certain idea of European jazz.

Lorenzo Di Maio - guitar

"Lorenzo Di Maio's music oscillates between contemplation and vivacity, and always exudes humanity and unfeigned feelings"

Jacques Prouvost, Jazzaround

​Lorenzo Di Maio is an eclectic musician who is curious about new sounds. This is how he began learning music and the guitar at the age of 9. In 2009, he graduated from the Royal Conservatory of Brussels. 

Since then, Lorenzo Di Maio has participated in various projects, including the group 4in1 (in the company of Jean-Paul Estiévenart) with whom he recorded a first album in 2008, which was awarded an octave of music, but also Sal La Rocca Quintet. , Fabrice Alleman quintet, Chrystel Wautier and the group Next.Ape with Antoine Pierre, Veronika Harcsa and Jérôme Klein.

In 2016 he released his first album as a leader  "Black Rainbow" on the Igloo records label for which he received the Octave for best jazz album in 2017. Through these different experiences, Lorenzo Di Maio has the opportunity to skim most of the Belgian and European stages and to play with musicians such as Salvatore La Rocca, Thomas Bramerie, Philippe Aerts, Eric Legnini, Nathalie Loriers, Pascal Mohy, Nicola Andrioli, Ben Wendel, Nicolas Kummert, Jacques Swartz Bart, Fabrice Alleman, Hans Van Oosterhout, Karl Jannuska, Antoine Pierre, Jean Paul Estiévenart,...

In 2019, he received the Sabam jazz awards as a young talent.

Sam Gerstmans - double bass

Coming from a family of musicians, he began music at a very young age. When he came of age, he played the violin, the trumpet, the electric bass, a little guitar and a little piano. He has already played Bach, Mozart, Schubert, Shostakovich, The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix,... There, he discovered jazz... He enrolled in the jazz studio for a year then returned to the Royal Conservatory of Brussels for 5 year. During his studies, he began playing the double bass in the play "La Maître et Marguerite" at the Théâtre des Martyrs in Brussels and integrated it into his curriculum at the Conservatoire. He has been accompanying various musical forms for 15 years now; jazz, world music, Pop... His current groups are Jean-Paul Estiévenart Trio, Les Violons de Bruxelles, Mohy/ Liégeois/Gerstmans trio, Steve Houben Trio/Quartet, "Jazz For Kids" with Manu Hermia and Pascal Mohy, NINA (tribute to Nina Simone), Olivier Colette Trio.

Jean-Paul Estiévenart - trumpet

Frequently sharing the stage with Logan Richardson, Eric Legnini, Jozef Dumouli Fabian Fiorini, Philip Catherine, or even Géraud Portal, Jean-Paul Estiévenart is one of the trumpeters to follow on the Belgian scene.

Jean-Paul Estiévenart (1985) began playing the trumpet in the fanfare of his village M Belgique, under the watchful and benevolent gaze of his grandfather. Bitten, he continued the complex study at the Academy of St Ghislain for ten years. It was there that he became acquainted with it instantly.

By settling in Brussels in 2004, Jean-Paul quickly became an essential figure, performing concerts at a frantic pace which has not diminished since then.
In 2013, he started a new musical adventure by creating his trio with Sam Gers on bass and Antoine Pierre on drums. Their first album, “Wanted” (WERF R a unique setting in the landscape of Belgian jazz and marks the beginning of a history q today. The trio is deeply steeped in tradition but plays constantly has expanded its borders, while while retaining the elegance and authenticity of its heritage... “Behind The Darkness” (Igloo Records, 2016) is an autobiographical opus that plays a trumpeter in coal heaps.It also represents moments of darkness in its The title of the album announces however a positive outcome, whereas J of his 30 years.

In more than 10 years of career, Jean-Paul Estiévenart has had the opportunity to rub shoulders with international jazz greats (Enrico Pieranuzzi, Nathalie Loriers, Avishai Cohen - trumpet, Dré Pallemaerts, Joe Lovano, Noel Gallagher, the Brussels jazz orchestra, Perico Sambe Schneider,...). He also plays in a dozen Belgian groups as a side Urbex, Lorenzo Di Maio quintet, LG Jazz Collective, Manolo Cabras 4tet, Manu Hermia Big Band, Mik Maak and many others), which makes him the trumpeter the more soll more than 40 albums to his credit.

In September 2018, Jean-Paul Estiévenart will launch his new project as a quintet with pilon (guitar), Nicola Andrioli (piano), Nic thys (double bass) and his accomplice Antoine This is an opportunity for the trumpeter to be at the controls of a project with 2 instruments unlike his trio which has none. The repertoire, still being written, is lyrical and energetic and will leave plenty of room for the improvisation of each performer. Jean-Paul is also preparing a third album with his trio.

His career as a leader is probably just beginning...
AWARDS • Django D'Or in 2006
• Represents Belgium in the European big band European Youth Jazz Orchestra

• Prix des Octaves de la Musique in 2009 with his first quartet album, 4in1.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png

CHAMERTONES TRIO Black 2.jpg

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

CHAMBERTONES TRIO

Dimanche 16 avril 2023 - 12h

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Bruxelles

CHANBERTONES TRIO

Lorenzo Di Maio - Guitare

Sam Gerstmans - contrebasse

Jean-Paul Estiévenart - trompette

Programme:

SLAM (J. Hall)

Waltz new (J.Hall)

Zara et Carlos (L. Di Maio)

Without a song (W. Rose)

All across the city (J. Hall)

Mela (L. Di Maio)

I hear a rhapsody ( G. Fragos, J. Backer)

Two's blues (J. Hall) 

Chambertones Trio

Né de la complicité qui lie ses trois musiciens depuis de nombreuses années, le Chambertones trio se réunira autour d’un répertoire qui mettra à l’honneur la musique du grand Jim Hall.
Agrémenté de la poésie de ses interprètes, ce trio proposera un jazz de chambre aux ambiances contrastées qui crée une passerelle entre la tradition du jazz et une certaine idée du jazz européen.

Lorenzo Di Maio - guitare

"La musique de Lorenzo Di Maio oscille entre contemplation et vivacité, et transpire toujours d’humanité et de sentiments non feints"

Jacques Prouvost , Jazzaround

​Lorenzo Di Maio est un musicien éclectique et curieux de nouvelles sonorités. C’est ainsi qu’il commence l’apprentissage de la musique et de la guitare à l’âge de 9 ans. En 2009, il est diplômé du Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles. 

Depuis, Lorenzo Di Maio participe à divers projets parmi lesquels on peut citer le groupe 4in1(en compagnie de Jean-Paul Estiévenart) avec qui il enregistre un premier album en 2008 récompensé d’un octave de la musique mais aussi, Sal La Rocca Quintet, Fabrice Alleman quintet, Chrystel Wautier ou encore le groupe Next.Ape en compagnie d'Antoine Pierre, Veronika Harcsa et Jérôme Klein.

En 2016 il sort son premier album en tant que leader  « Black Rainbow » sur le label Igloo records pour lequel il reçoit l'Octave du meilleur album jazz en 2017. A travers ces différentes expériences, Lorenzo Di Maio a l’occasion d’écumer la plupart des scènes belges et européenneset de jouer avec des musiciens tels que Salvatore La Rocca, Thomas Bramerie, Philippe Aerts, Eric Legnini, Nathalie Loriers, Pascal Mohy, Nicola Andrioli, Ben Wendel, Nicolas Kummert, Jacques Swartz Bart, Fabrice Alleman, Hans Van Oosterhout, Karl Jannuska, Antoine Pierre, Jean Paul Estiévenart,...

En 2019, il reçoit le Sabam jazz awards en tant que jeune talent.

Sam Gerstmans - contrebasse

Issu d'une famille de musiciens, Il commence la musique très jeune. Arrivé à sa majorité, il joue du violon, de la trompette, de la basse électrique, un peu de guitare et un peu de piano. Il a déjà joué, Bach, Mozart, Schubert, Shostakovich, The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix,... Là, il découvre le jazz... Il s'inscrit au jazz studio pendant un an puis rentre au Conservatoire Royal de Bruxelles pour 5 ans. Durant ses études, il commence la contrebasse dans la pièce "La Maître et Marguerite" au Théâtre des Martyrs à Bruxelles et l’intègre dans son cursus au Conservatoire. Cela fait aujourd'hui 15 ans qu'il accompagne diverses formes musicales; jazz, musique du monde, Pop... Ses groupes actuels sont Jean-Paul Estiévenart Trio, Les Violons de Bruxelles, Mohy/ Liégeois/Gerstmans trio, Steve Houben Trio/Quartet, "Jazz For Kids" avec Manu Hermia et Pascal Mohy, NINA (hommage à Nina Simone), Olivier Colette Trio.

Jean-Paul Estiévenart - trompette

Partageant fréquemment la scène avec Logan Richardson, Eric Legnini, Jozef Dumouli Fabian Fiorini, Philip Catherine, ou encore Géraud Portal, Jean-Paul Estiévenart est inc des trompettistes à suivre de la scène belge.

Jean-Paul Estiévenart (1985) commence la trompette dans la fanfare de son village M Belgique, sous le regard avisé et bienveillant de son grand-père. Mordu, il poursuit l’ét complexe à l’Académie de St Ghislain pendant dix années. C’est là qu’il fait connaissan s’en passionne instantanément.

En s’installant à Bruxelles en 2004, Jean-Paul devient rapidement une figure incontour enchaîne les concerts à un rythme effréné qui n’a pas diminué depuis lors.
En 2013, il démarre une nouvelle aventure musicale en créant son trio avec Sam Gers contrebasse et Antoine Pierre à la batterie. Leur premier album, “Wanted” (W.E.R.F. R un décors singulier dans le paysage du jazz belge et marque le début d’une histoire q aujourd’hui. Le trio est profondément imprégné par la tradition mais joue sans cesse a étend ses frontières, tout en conservant l’élégance et l’authenticité de son héritage... L “Behind The Darkness” (Igloo Records, 2016) est un opus autobiographique qui fait ré trompettiste dans les terrils de charbon. Il représente aussi les moments de noirceur r son existence. Le titre de l’album annonce pourtant un dénouement positif, alors que J de ses 30 ans.

En plus de 10 ans de carrière, Jean-Paul Estiévenart a eu l’occasion de côtoyer de gra internationale du jazz (Enrico Pieranuzzi, Nathalie Loriers, Avishai Cohen - trompette, Dré Pallemaerts, Joe Lovano, Noel Gallagher, le Brussels jazz orchestra, Perico Sambe Schneider,...). Il joue également dans une dizaine de groupes belges en tant que side Urbex, Lorenzo Di Maio quintet, LG Jazz Collective, Manolo Cabras 4tet, Manu Hermia Big Band, Mik Maak et beaucoup d'autres), ce qui fait de lui le trompettiste le plus soll plus de 40 albums à son actif.

En septembre 2018, Jean-Paul Estiévenart lancera son nouveau projet en quintet avec pilon (guitare), Nicola Andrioli (piano), Nic thys (contrebasse) et son complice Antoine C’est l’occasion pour le trompettiste d’être aux commandes d’un projet avec 2 instrum contrairement à son trio qui n’en comporte aucun. Le répertoire, encore en écriture, p lyrique et énergique et laissera beaucoup de place à l’improvisation de chaque interpr Jean-Paul prépare aussi un troisième album avec son trio.

Sa carrière de leader ne fait sans doute que commencer...
PRIX • Django D’Or en 2006
• Représente la Belgique au sein du big band européen European Youth Jazz Orchestra

• Prix des Octaves de la Musique en 2009 avec son premier album en quartet, 4in1.

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
logo MGCONCERTS horizontal.png