AYRTON DERVOED 2.png

CPE Festival and MGConcerts present

 

MUSIC AT THE MUSEUM

ARTYOM DERVOED

Sunday February 13, 2022 - 12:30 p.m.

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels

ARTYOM DERVOED - Classical guitar

Program:

Federico Moreno Torroba (1891 - 1982) - Castles of Spain

Miguel Llobet (1878 - 1938) - Scherzo-Valz

Fernando Sor (1778 - 1839) - Fantasy n ° 7 op. 30
Аntonio José (1902 - 1936) - Sonata

"One of the most outstanding classical guitarists I’ve heard so far...[who] is taking the classical guitar to a new level. To watch Mr. Dervoed’s stunning virtuosity combined with his deep musical insight...is more than fascinating.” Prof. Augustin Wiedemann, classical guitarist, presenter (Germany)

"An outstanding figure." La Provence — Dimanche (France)

“Paganini of the guitar.“ Plattlinger Anzeiger (Germany)

Universe Guitare (France) has famously dubbed Artyom Dervoed the “Tsar of the guitar”. This bold claim is backed by the growing international demand, an active recording career, and no less than 16 first place awards in various international competitions. A regular guest on the world’s most prestigious stages, including the Berliner Philharmonie, Kölner Philharmonie, Tonhalle Düsseldorf, Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, Carnegie Hall, Jordan Hall, Bunka Kaikan, Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory and Tchaikovsky Hall, Mr. Dervoed is among the most eminent champions of the classical guitar. Having mastered the entire standard orchestral, chamber and solo guitar literature, he is significantly expanding the existing repertoire through collaborations with leading composers, whose works he inspires, commissions and performs.

In July 2019, Artyom Dervoed unveiled his own guitar transcription of Tan Dun’s epic multimedia work Nu Shu: The Secret Songs of Women with Qingdao Symphony Orchestra under the baton of the composer himself. Originally written for harp, 13 microfilms and orchestra, Nu Shu was commissioned by NHK and the Philadelphia orchestras in 2013. Five years later, Maestro Tan Dun invited Artyom Dervoed to transcribe the work for classical guitar.

Mr. Dervoed fell in love with the guitar as a child and became the first Russian to win two of the most prestigious contests, Michele Pittaluga Guitar Competition in Italy and Her Royal Highness Princess Cristina Competition in Spain. The international attention allowed him to focus on recording projects, including the album of works by Russian composers, which was released worldwide on Naxos in 2008 and became one of the top ten bestselling chamber music records that year. “If your current budget runs to just a single item, make this the one” advised the UK Classical Guitar Magazine. The following year, Mr. Dervoed recorded the music of the Cuban classical guitar legend Leo Brouwer. The album titled Canticum was exclusively released in 2019 on classical music streaming platform IDAGIO. His third album Ghosts & Shadows: Music of Spain (Melodia Records, 2015) representing a survey of the 500 years of Spanish music, was nominated for the ICMA Best Solo Performance Award in the “Solo Instruments” category. Just before the pandemic crisis Artyom Dervoed released his fourth album Paganini & Koshkin (Melodia, 2020). The album features Nikita Koshkin’s Megaron concerto, and the first-ever recording of Grand Quartetto – Niccolò Paganini's Grand Sonata transcribed by Koshkin for guitar and string trio. The album brought the artist the second ICMA nomination and was acknowledged as “one of best recordings of the decade” by leading Canadian classical guitar source This is Classical Guitar.

A magnetic personality and a bona fide virtuoso, Mr. Dervoed has an active media profile in Russia. He is frequently invited to speak on TV and radio about the classical guitar, its historic significance, musical versatility and exciting future. The world premiere of Niccolò Paganini/Stephen Goss’ Guitar Concerto based on Paganini’s Grand Sonata for guitar and violin, with Mikhail Pletnev and the Russian National Orchestra, was nationally televised, reaching hundreds of thousands of viewers. Among his recent world premieres — the Concerto for guitar and orchestra by living Russian composer Alexander Tchaikovsky (2018). Currently his orchestral repertoire consists of no less than 33 concerti. 

Mr. Dervoed teaches at the prestigious Gnesin Academy. Twelve highly anticipated lessons of Artyom Dervoed’s series of educational videos was released in 2017 — 2020, four more will be slated for release this year.

Artyom Dervoed is a founder of Moscow Guitar Chamber Music Festival “Golden Fingerboards” and the co-founder and Artistic Director of the annual Guitar Virtuosi Moscow International Festival, presented by the Moscow Philharmonic at the Tchaikovsky Hall. Its solo, chamber and orchestral performances are streamed online and have featured major international stars including Pepe Romero, Sergio and Odair Assad, violinist Dmitry Sitkovetsky and pianist Boris Berezovsky. The latter has recently collaborated with Mr. Dervoed on a program of classical and contemporary repertoire. In 2015 the festival opened with Mr. Dervoed’s performance of his own transcription of Beethoven Violin Concerto with the Svetlanov State Symphony Orchestra under the baton of Fabio Mastrangelo. 

Born in Southern Russia, Mr. Dervoed began his guitar studies with Sergey Annikov, Elena Svetozarova and Leonid Reznik. He later trained with Prof. Nikolay Komolyatov at the Schnittke Music College and Gnesin Academy in Moscow, Oscar Ghiglia at Accademia Chigiana in Italy, and Aniello Desiderio at Koblenz Guitar Academy in Germany. Recognized as “a musician with a wide dynamic range, an intelligent and expressive phrasing, and a technical facility with no discernible limitations" (Editions Orphee, USA), he has received honorary scholarships from the City of Moscow, Vladimir Spivakov International Foundation, and the Russian Foundation for the Performing Arts.

Artyom Dervoed uses D’Addario strings and is the first Russian classical guitarist endorsed by Yamaha.

Awards:  

  • 1995, Moscow (Russia), «Young Musicians» International competition — 1st prize;

  • 1996, Belgorod (Russia), All-Russian competition — 1st prize;  

  • 1999, Carpentras (France), International competition dedicated to Leo Brouwer — 1st prize;  

  • 2004, Cherepovets (Russia), «Cup of North» International competition — 1st prize;  

  • 2004, Ile de Re (France), International competition — 1st prize;  

  • 2006, Alessandria (Italy), «Michele Pittaluga» 39th International competition — 1st prize; 

  • 2006, Singapore, International competition — 1st prize; 

  • 2007 “Golden Guitar” prize of the International Guitar Convention in Alessandria (Italy) in the Best Up-and-Coming Guitarist category;

  • 2009, Toledo (Spain), «H.R.H. Princess Cristina» 18th International competition — 1st prize.  

  • 2010, Buffalo (NY, USA), JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition — 1st prize.  

  • 2010, Boston (MA, USA), Boston GuitarFest International competition — 1st prize. 

  • 2010, Iserlohn (Germany), International competition — 1st prize.

  • 2011, Netanya (Israel), International competition — 1st prize. 

  • 2012, Columbia (SC, USA), Southern Guitar Festival & Competition — 1st prize.

  • 2012, Taipei (Taiwan), Taiwan International guitar competition — 1st prize.

  • 2012, Pisa (Italy), «Stefano Strata — Città di Pisa» International competition — 1st prize.

  • 2013, Moscow (Russia), Alexander Frauchi International competition — 1st prize.

  • 2016, ICMA Best Solo Performance Award nomination in the “Solo Instruments” category.

  • 2021, ICMA Best Album in Assorted Programs nomination.

Select orchestral collaborations:

Russian National Orchestra & Mikhail Pletnev, Svetlanov State Symphony Orchestra & Vladimir Jurowski, Qingdao Symphony Orchestra & Tan Dun, National Philharmonic Orchestra of Russia & Vladimir Spivakov, Yuri Bashmet's State Symphony Orchestra "Novaya Rossiya", Ural Philharmonic Orchestra, Tatarstan National Symphony Orchestra & Alexander Sladkovsky; Staatskapelle Berlin Orchestra, Rhine Philharmonic State Orchestra, Cologne New Philharmonic Orchestra, Sinfonietta Köln, Amadeus Kammerorchester Dortmund, Ensemble del Arte (Germany); Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra (USA); Roma Philharmonic Orchestra, Vivaldi Philharmonic Orchestra (Italy); Beer-Sheva Sinfonietta Orchestra (Israel).

Select press quotes:

“Dervoed goes from lush arpeggiated sections, sweet melodic playing, percussive rhythmic accompaniment, and incisive articulations… [Megaron Concerto] is a must-listen recording. […] The concerto explores every corner of virtuosic guitar performance along with engaging orchestration and memorable melodies and textures.” This is classical guitar (Canada) 

“Soft touch and virtuosic creative energy.” Neuburger Rundschau (Germany)

“First-class performance to be recommended to any chamber music lover.” Donau Kurier (Germany)

“He has real musicianship and real presence. He has a wonderful look, with an intense demeanor […] Dervoed's tone was dashing and authoritative […] Every note he played was distinct and intended, but at the same time his playing sounded spontaneous. Dervoed's final notes, plucked out against a shimmer of strings, were magical.” New Classical Music Critic (USA)

“He captured the aromas and flavors of the compositions and seemed also to have done some digging into their emotional substance […] Rodrigo’s Three Spanish Pieces gave the visitor a sweeping range of technical issues to solve. Not only did Dervoed solve them, but he infused this arresting and intuitive music with generous personal spirit […] The recital ended with an exacting and expressively detailed Sonata for Guitar by Turina, which allowed Dervoed to re-reveal his prodigious finger dexterity and elevated musical sensitivity.” Herald Times Online (USA)

“The Verri Hall audience was literally stunned by the highest level of Mr. Dervoed’s musicianship […]. The amazing accuracy of his performance was evident in every work performed by Artyom Dervoed as a testament to his exceptional technique and originality of the interpretation.” Il Cittadino di Lodi(Italy)

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
MGConcerts.png

AYRTON DERVOED 2.png

CPE Festival et MGConcerts présentent

 

LE MUSÉE EN MUSIQUE

ARTYOM DERVOED

le dimanche 13 février 2022 - 12h30

MIM, Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, 1000 Brussels

ARTYOM DERVOED - Guitare classique

Programme:

Federico Moreno Torroba (1891 - 1982) - Châteaux d'Espagne

Miguel Llobet (1878 - 1938) - Scherzo-Valz

Fernando Sor (1778 - 1839) - Fantaisie n°7 op. 30
Аntonio José (1902 - 1936) - Sonate

"L'un des guitaristes classiques les plus remarquables que j'ai entendus jusqu'à présent... [qui] fait passer la guitare classique à un niveau supérieur. Observer l'étonnante virtuosité de M. Dervoed combinée à sa profonde perspicacité musicale... est plus que fascinant." Prof. Augustin Wiedemann, guitariste classique, présentateur (Allemagne)
"Une figure exceptionnelle". La Provence - Dimanche (France)
"Le Paganini de la guitare". Plattlinger Anzeiger (Allemagne)

Universe Guitare (France) a surnommé Artyom Dervoed le "Tsar de la guitare". Cette affirmation audacieuse est étayée par une demande internationale croissante, une carrière discographique active et pas moins de 16 premières places dans divers concours internationaux. Invité régulièrement sur les scènes les plus prestigieuses du monde, dont la Berliner Philharmonie, la Kölner Philharmonie, la Tonhalle Düsseldorf, l'Elbphilharmonie Hamburg, le Carnegie Hall, le Jordan Hall, le Bunka Kaikan, le Great Hall du Conservatoire de Moscou et le Tchaikovsky Hall, M. Dervoed compte parmi les plus éminents champions de la guitare classique. Ayant maîtrisé toute la littérature standard pour guitare d'orchestre, de chambre et solo, il élargit considérablement le répertoire existant en collaborant avec des compositeurs de premier plan, dont il inspire, commande et interprète les œuvres.

En juillet 2019, Artyom Dervoed a dévoilé sa propre transcription pour guitare de l'œuvre multimédia épique de Tan Dun, Nu Shu : The Secret Songs of Women, avec l'orchestre symphonique de Qingdao, sous la baguette du compositeur lui-même. Initialement écrite pour harpe, 13 microfilms et orchestre, Nu Shu a été commandée par la NHK et les orchestres de Philadelphie en 2013. Cinq ans plus tard, le maestro Tan Dun a invité Artyom Dervoed à transcrire l'œuvre pour guitare classique.

M. Dervoed est tombé amoureux de la guitare dès son enfance et est devenu le premier Russe à remporter deux des concours les plus prestigieux, le concours de guitare Michele Pittaluga en Italie et le concours de Son Altesse Royale la Princesse Cristina en Espagne. Cette attention internationale lui a permis de se concentrer sur des projets d'enregistrement, notamment l'album d'œuvres de compositeurs russes, qui est sorti dans le monde entier chez Naxos en 2008 et est devenu l'un des dix disques de musique de chambre les plus vendus cette année-là. "Si votre budget actuel se limite à un seul article, faites de celui-ci celui-là" a conseillé le magazine britannique Classical Guitar Magazine. L'année suivante, M. Dervoed a enregistré la musique de la légende cubaine de la guitare classique Leo Brouwer. L'album intitulé Canticum est sorti en exclusivité en 2019 sur la plateforme de streaming de musique classique IDAGIO. Son troisième album Ghosts & Shadows : Music of Spain (Melodia Records, 2015) représentant une enquête sur les 500 ans de musique espagnole, a été nommé pour le prix ICMA de la meilleure performance solo dans la catégorie "Instruments solos". Juste avant la crise pandémique, Artyom Dervoed a sorti son quatrième album Paganini & Koshkin (Melodia, 2020). L'album comprend le concerto Megaron de Nikita Koshkin, et le tout premier enregistrement du Grand Quartetto - la Grande Sonate de Niccolò Paganini transcrite par Koshkin pour guitare et trio à cordes. L'album a valu à l'artiste sa deuxième nomination à l'ICMA et a été reconnu comme "l'un des meilleurs enregistrements de la décennie" par la principale source canadienne de guitare classique This is Classical Guitar.

Personnalité magnétique et virtuose de bonne foi, M. Dervoed est très présent dans les médias russes. Il est fréquemment invité à parler à la télévision et à la radio de la guitare classique, de son importance historique, de sa polyvalence musicale et de son avenir passionnant. La première mondiale du Concerto pour guitare de Niccolò Paganini/Stephen Goss, basé sur la Grande Sonate pour guitare et violon de Paganini, avec Mikhail Pletnev et l'Orchestre national russe, a été télévisée à l'échelle nationale, touchant des centaines de milliers de téléspectateurs. Parmi ses récentes premières mondiales - le Concerto pour guitare et orchestre du compositeur russe vivant Alexandre Tchaïkovski (2018). Actuellement, son répertoire orchestral ne compte pas moins de 33 concerti.

M. Dervoed enseigne à la prestigieuse Académie Gnesin. Douze leçons très attendues de la série de vidéos éducatives d'Artyom Dervoed sont sorties en 2017 - 2020, quatre autres seront prévues pour cette année.

Artyom Dervoed est l'un des fondateurs du festival de musique de chambre pour guitare de Moscou "Golden Fingerboards" et le cofondateur et directeur artistique du festival international annuel Guitar Virtuosi Moscow, présenté par la Philharmonie de Moscou au Tchaikovsky Hall. Ses concerts en solo, en musique de chambre et avec orchestre sont diffusés en ligne et ont accueilli de grandes stars internationales comme Pepe Romero, Sergio et Odair Assad, le violoniste Dmitry Sitkovetsky et le pianiste Boris Berezovsky. Ce dernier a récemment collaboré avec M. Dervoed sur un programme de répertoire classique et contemporain. En 2015, le festival s'est ouvert avec l'interprétation par M. Dervoed de sa propre transcription du Concerto pour violon de Beethoven avec l'Orchestre symphonique d'État Svetlanov sous la baguette de Fabio Mastrangelo.


Né dans le sud de la Russie, M. Dervoed a commencé ses études de guitare avec Sergey Annikov, Elena Svetozarova et Leonid Reznik. Il s'est ensuite formé auprès du professeur Nikolay Komolyatov au Schnittke Music College et à l'Académie Gnesin de Moscou, d'Oscar Ghiglia à l'Accademia Chigiana en Italie et d'Aniello Desiderio à l'Académie de guitare de Coblence en Allemagne. Reconnu comme "un musicien doté d'une large gamme dynamique, d'un phrasé intelligent et expressif, et d'une facilité technique sans limites discernables" (Editions Orphee, USA), il a reçu des bourses d'honneur de la ville de Moscou, de la Fondation internationale Vladimir Spivakov et de la Fondation russe pour les arts du spectacle.

Artyom Dervoed utilise des cordes D'Addario et est le premier guitariste classique russe à bénéficier de l'appui de Yamaha.

Récompenses : 

  • 1995, Moscou (Russie), concours international "Jeunes Musiciens" - 1er prix

  • 1996, Belgorod (Russie), concours panrusse - 1er prix

  • 1999, Carpentras (France), Concours international dédié à Leo Brouwer - 1er prix

  • 2004, Cherepovets (Russie), concours international "Cup of North" - 1er prix

  • 2004, Ile de Ré (France), Concours international - 1er prix

  • 2006, Alessandria (Italie), 39e concours international "Michele Pittaluga" - 1er prix

  • 2006, Singapour, Concours international - 1er prix

  • 2007, prix "Guitare d'or" de la Convention internationale de la guitare d'Alessandria (Italie) dans la catégorie "meilleur guitariste

  • 2009, Tolède (Espagne), 18e concours international "S.A.R. la Princesse Cristina" - 1er prix

  • 2010, Buffalo (NY, USA), JoAnn Falletta International Guitar Concerto Competition - 1er prix

  • 2010, Boston (MA, USA), Concours international Boston GuitarFest - 1er prix

  • 2010, Iserlohn (Allemagne), Concours international - 1er prix

  • 2011, Netanya (Israël), Concours international - 1er prix

  • 2012, Columbia (SC, USA), Southern Guitar Festival & Competition - 1er prix

  • 2012, Taipei (Taiwan), Concours international de guitare de Taiwan - 1er prix

  • 2012, Pise (Italie), Concours international "Stefano Strata - Città di Pisa" - 1er prix

  • 2013, Moscou (Russie), Concours international Alexander Frauchi - 1er prix

  • 2016, nomination au ICMA Best Solo Performance Award dans la catégorie "Solo Instruments"

  • 2021, nomination au ICMA Best Album in Assorted Programs

Collaborations orchestrales sélectionnées :
Orchestre national russe et Mikhail Pletnev, Orchestre symphonique d'État Svetlanov et Vladimir Jurowski, Orchestre symphonique de Qingdao et Tan Dun, Orchestre philharmonique national de Russie et Vladimir Spivakov, Orchestre symphonique d'État "Novaya Rossiya" de Yuri Bashmet, Orchestre philharmonique de l'Oural, Orchestre symphonique national du Tatarstan et Alexander Sladkovsky ; Orchestre de la Staatskapelle de Berlin, Orchestre philharmonique d'État du Rhin, Nouvel Orchestre philharmonique de Cologne, Sinfonietta Köln, Amadeus Kammerorchester Dortmund, Ensemble del Arte (Allemagne) ; Orchestre philharmonique de Buffalo (États-Unis) ; Orchestre philharmonique de Rome, Orchestre philharmonique Vivaldi (Italie) ; Orchestre Sinfonietta Beer-Sheva (Israël).

Sélection de citations dans la presse :
"Dervoed passe de sections arpégées luxuriantes, à un jeu mélodique doux, à un accompagnement rythmique percussif et à des articulations incisives... [Megaron Concerto] est un enregistrement à écouter absolument. [...] Le concerto explore tous les recoins de la performance virtuose de la guitare, avec une orchestration engageante et des mélodies et textures mémorables." This is classical guitar (Canada)


"Un toucher doux et une énergie créatrice virtuose". Neuburger Rundschau (Allemagne)


"Une performance de première classe à recommander à tout amateur de musique de chambre". Donau Kurier (Allemagne)


"Il a une vraie musicalité et une vraie présence. Il a un look magnifique, avec un comportement intense [...] Le ton de Dervoed était fringant et autoritaire [...] Chaque note qu'il jouait était distincte et voulue, mais en même temps son jeu semblait spontané. Les dernières notes de Dervoed, pincées sur un chatoiement de cordes, étaient magiques." New Classical Music Critic (USA)


"Il a capturé les arômes et les saveurs des compositions et semble également avoir creusé un peu leur substance émotionnelle [...] Les trois pièces espagnoles de Rodrigo ont donné au visiteur un large éventail de problèmes techniques à résoudre. Non seulement Dervoed les a résolus, mais il a insufflé à cette musique saisissante et intuitive un esprit personnel généreux [...] Le récital s'est terminé par une Sonate pour guitare de Turina, exigeante et expressivement détaillée, qui a permis à Dervoed de révéler à nouveau sa prodigieuse dextérité digitale et sa sensibilité musicale élevée." Herald Times Online (USA)


"Le public du Verri Hall a été littéralement abasourdi par le plus haut niveau de musicalité de M. Dervoed [...]. L'étonnante précision de son interprétation était évidente dans chaque œuvre interprétée par Artyom Dervoed, comme un témoignage de sa technique exceptionnelle et de l'originalité de l'interprétation." Il Cittadino di Lodi(Italie)

Ticketmaster-Logo-Azure-RGB.png
mim-new logo png.png
CPE FESTIVAL pour Ticketmaster.png
musiq3.png
MGConcerts.png